We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Italian food and seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Capriccio

Capriccio
Ranked #62 of 276 Restaurants in Nassau
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Paris
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice Italian food and seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

We had a nice dinner at this Italian restaurant. The owners are around always making sure that everything runs smoothly. I had the lobster in a white wine sauce with pasta. The lobster was local, fresh and delicious. Our waiter was great and very nice. Prices somewhat high but usual for this type of restaurant in Nassau. The owner wished us a wonderful evening as we were leaving- a nice touch that made us feel special.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ParisLibellule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    70
    27
    8
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
st. louis
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad service and so-so food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We were told by a local that the food was not bad and the price was reasonable. We walked there from our resort. We were greeted and seated quickly but then did not get any service for 15 min. While we waited to order, we were eating the bread and using the oils and paramsean cheese when a big party came in and the waitress snatches them up from our table to give to the other table without asking us or replacing it. When the waiter finally came back, I asked for a replacement and she looked annoyed. I ordered the special Lamb Shank and my husband the carbonara. The Lamb Shank was over salted and seasoned, probably to cover up that the meat was old as it didn't taste right; hence why it was the special. The cabonara was just OK, nothing special. Service through the whole meal was nonexistent. I had to ask the owner for the check. Other tables had to get up to go to the bar to get their drinks because of the poor servicel. Would not recommend it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blueskidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“intimate, very good service, quality not bad, price a little high”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

after reading many, many rave reviews we went to capriccios and ordered lasagna and a great salad ... all to split. at $18.75 for lasagna w/o sides, based on the quality and quantity a little was left to reach a desired result. the greek salad was good but was also on the scrimpy side for $12.95. perhaps we're spoiled having eaten many times in boston's north end. this wasn't close.

not a real fault of anyone but when i shook the parmesian cheese dispenser, the cap came off and my order got more than a blessing of dumped parmesian cheese. oh well.

i personally like layers when eating lasagna; this was not to be the case here. the sauce was good but i wished, oh i wished, for layers of lasagna. perhaps this is not to be in the bahamas.

we have a week and a half left here to find out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ret_revron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Classic American-Italian Menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

The menu and wine list had a tourist feel to it although the walls had old-school paintings that reminded me of family owned restaurants outside of Florence. The owner/manager had an Italian friend stop by while we were there. Their conversation in Italian landed an authentic feel our experience. The menu covers all the basics with few surprises. The service was prompt and efficient with a smile. The entree portions were filling and solid. Sadly, no room for dessert and their chocolate cake looked good. Easy walk from West Winds II and no reservation was required.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoireeChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Drove past this place a lot, thought it looked cute. Stopped in with a friend for dinner. The restaurant wasn't busy.. there were open tables at all times. We ordered an appetizer, it came out pretty timely... but it was also sliced melon and proscuitto. We ordered dinner shortly after we ordered the appetizer... two pasta dishes, and waited about 90 minutes for our food to come out. In the time that we sat down to when we left, we watched about 5 families sit down, order, get their food, and then leave. Our waiter ignored us the entire time, and when he brought our food out, he apologized for the wait and said he would buy us a round of drinks.. except we weren't drinking. So that was it.. no discount on our meals, nothing. When I asked for another iced tea, it took almost 15 minutes. I watched him sit in the back of the restaurant, not filling my glass, for 15 minutes. On top of that, the food was not stellar, I didn't mind mind (risoto) but my friend really didn't like his (sausage and angel hair, he asked for fettucini). It's interesting because we're not tourists.. we live here. Guess who is never going to recommend this place to anyone...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank UnhappyPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capriccio also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Capriccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing