We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Part of our Bahamian Food Tour”

Bahamian Cookin' Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #6 of 276 Restaurants in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bahamian Cookin Restaurant & Bar is Nassau's oldest Bahamian Restaurant,specializing in authentic Bahamian Cuisine.Owned and operated by 3 generations of Bahamian women, this local establishment has been providing Bahamians and tourists with flavorful Bahamian Cuisine for over 29 years.
Boyertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Part of our Bahamian Food Tour”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The food was great! We enjoyed hearing about the history of the restaurant and the family from our Bahamian Food Tour guide.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    83
    17
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Homestyle Cooking!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I'm so glad my husband and I decided to give this restaurant a try. After a long day of shopping and cruising the city, this was definitely the break we needed. Air conditioning was working full blast and the food and service was awesome. Not many customers. However, made it better being in an establishment without tons of tourists. I can't say enough about the food. Must try the Steam Pork chops on the menu. Conch fritters were my favorite. Recommend this restaurant to anyone who happened to visit this town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Raysa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best food in Nassau for the week that I was here!”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended to my bf and I by our jitney driver: Phil, and it did not disappoint! We got the steamed conch and the mutton. It was by far the best food I had the entire 7 days that I've been here. The plantains were delish as well. We also got the Bahama Mama and piña colada drinks which were also fantastic. If my hotel weren't so far away, I would have went here everyday!

Helpful?
3 Thank Pauerful1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“feed me!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Loved the food here and the mini waitress we had, a great family owned and run business which proves popular with the locals so always a great recommendation!
loved loved loved the food and the casual atmosphere...a great lunch spot

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirs Beach, NH
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Local cooking”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We wanted to taste what bahamians have enjoyed and this restaurant seems to provide just that. Very clean, close to shopping area. Friendly staff and owners. Food is prepared to give u a sample of island cooking. Good job.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nhmotelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahamian Cookin' Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Bahamian Cookin' Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing