We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is place for authentic Bahamian.”

Bahamian Cookin' Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #9 of 286 Restaurants in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $40
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: Bahamian Cookin Restaurant & Bar is Nassau's oldest Bahamian Restaurant,specializing in authentic Bahamian Cuisine.Owned and operated by 3 generations of Bahamian women, this local establishment has been providing Bahamians and tourists with flavorful Bahamian Cuisine for over 29 years.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“This is place for authentic Bahamian.”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

It's a casual place and the food is very authentic. If you want to eat like the locals - go here! Conch fritters were a bit disappointing, more bready than conchy but I think that's how they make them.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Truffles183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    91
    17
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
greensboro nc
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Visited while on the Bites of Nassau food tour and this place is awesome! Not hard to find, and the food is truly Bahamian. A wonderful meal enjoyed here!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Osandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cruise Trip I”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

After a morning of sightseeing and shopping we stopped in to try the conch; it was delicious and served with hot fries. Friendly servers and a clean place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful fresh authentic.”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

While walking down Bay St and desperately needing a conch salad, we saw a sign on the corner pointing to the Bahamian Cookin' restaurant. We walked one to two blocks down a side street and found it around the corner. We were greeted by friendly staff and immediately ordered Switcha, not knowing what it was. It is a tasty, refreshing lemonade the drink of the Bahamas. We ordered conch salad, conch soup and conch fritters. All was so good. As we enjoyed our meal, a food tour group came through and we were able to listen to the info about the food history. I wish we could have stayed longer and tasted other foods but the cruise ship was waiting. If you're heading to Nassau, stop here and enjoy the best meal on the island. Tip: ALWAYS get the large order, it will fill you up but you'll still want more!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Rodney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUTZ
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great food off the beaten path!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

After a morning of shopping and sight seeing in Nassau, the only request I had was conch fritters. We happened upon this hidden gem thanks to a sign they had placed on the main road. We were happy we did! We arrived right when they opened so we were the first ones there. We ordered a couple Kalik beers (the local brew), conch fritters, conch salad and conch chowder. Everything we ordered was reasonably priced and delicious! The service is not rushed so don't expect to pop in and pop out quickly. If you are in a hurry, be sure to let them know.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Couple022512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahamian Cookin' Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Bahamian Cookin' Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing