We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!”

Bahamian Cookin' Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #7 of 286 Restaurants in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $40
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: Bahamian Cookin Restaurant & Bar is Nassau's oldest Bahamian Restaurant,specializing in authentic Bahamian Cuisine.Owned and operated by 3 generations of Bahamian women, this local establishment has been providing Bahamians and tourists with flavorful Bahamian Cuisine for over 29 years.
Melbourne, Florida USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Ate here on the Bites of Nassau Food Tour offered by ShoreTrips - not a ship - and the food was WONDERFUL!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SUSANINFLORIDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    91
    17
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“"Wow Conch Fritters!"”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Yes, these are the best Conch fritters of the Bahamas! The real thing, prepared fresh, with just enough spice to start your taste buds jumping!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good bahamian cooking”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I went here on a food tour and it was awesome. The macaroni was to die for, I have had conch fritters at other places, but his was the best. Want some good cooking try Bahamian cookin.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank viraduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Mississippi
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Small town home cookin-Bahamian style!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is the first place I tried conch fritters! Thanks to the great cooking, I enjoyed 3 additional orders elsewhere during our 1 week stay. The owner was glad to take a photo with my husband and I. She pulled us in close & tight and really made us feel welcomed!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ate on a whim; loved it”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stopped in Nassau for a few hours as a cruise stop. Wound up being led to Bahamian Kitchen on a whim because a friend was starving, I didn't want any typical "touristy" fare, and I needed a break from cruise food.

Long story short, we loved everything about the restaurant. I was a bit skeptical after being led down a back street, but the restaurant is awesome. Clean; friendly and helpful service; killer location. I had the stewed chicken, my girlfriend ate the barbecue chicken, and our friend had fried grouper. We started with the conch fritters and drank Kalik Lager.

The group's favorite was probably the barbecue chicken, though the conch fritters were great as well. Grouper was light and not at all greasy. Try the plantains as a side.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahamian Cookin' Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Bahamian Cookin' Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing