We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get A Real Taste Of The Island” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fish Fry's

Fish Fry's
Ranked #30 of 272 Restaurants in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Get A Real Taste Of The Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

The entire set of Arawak Cay restaurants serve genuine Bahamian food at reasonable prices in a relaxed, casual atmosphere. Taste real Bahamian food here!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichBrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    185
    91
    30
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dacula, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't do it. I don't understand all of the positive reviews”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

I have never felt compelled to write a review before, but I have to set the record straight about the Nassau Fish Fry. On my recent vacation, this group of restaurants was recommended to us by cabbies and storekeepers at pretty much every turn. Based upon all of the glowing recommendations, we decided to check it out for dinner.

It should be pointed out that the "Fish Fry" is not a restaurant, but rather a collection of small restaurants. When we got out of the cab, we were immediately besieged by hucksters trying to steer us into their particular restaurant. There were also a number of highly intoxicated locals who were nearly passed out in the common outside area. It felt very sketchy and unsafe, especially since we had children with us.

We wound up going to Candies, due to the charisma of their salesman, who insisted his restaurant had been featured on a number of "name brand" food and travel television programs. We knew it was probably puffery, but we still chose his place, because we had to choose somewhere, and he was a colorful character, and we liked him.

It was all downhill from there.

As soon as we sat down, our order was promptly taken. A terrible smell would periodically "waft" across the table. there was some disagreement whether it smelled like sewage or dog excrement, but it was awful. Local salesmen came by one after the next to try to sell us an our kids cigars and assorted junk. We held out hope that the food would be redeeming, but before it ever came, we saw two giant rats scampering around the tables. Yuck. I love local places, and dives, and I will tolerate a lot, but giant rats is where I draw the line.

We attempted to cancel our food, but they wouldn't let us, and we felt very unsafe to refuse to pay, so we paid (a lot) and left. Lesson learned. Nassau was great, but don't get suckered into this highly unsafe tourist trap.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JTS927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“delicious seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

my wife and I shared the seafood platter. The grilled lobster was superb along with the conch shrimp and fish. I am now officially in love with bahamian mac and cheese.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank edward c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
316 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Fried Seafood Festival.....every day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Lots of local fried fish. Lots of different small establishments to choose from. I felt it was expensive and average food. Its an OK place for lunch, i feel there are nicer, more upscale options, with better food at similar prices. There were many locals milling about, many street vendors approaching you to sell their "stuff". Lots of frozen drinks and reggae music. If this review helps your planning, please leave me a helpful vote

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Slayridez06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best conch ceviche this side of town!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Fish Fry is a restaurant area with a mix of restaurants. We ate lunch at Candies last Wednesday. I had the best conch ceviche among other tasty foods. The conch ceviche kiosk serves freshly made conch ceviche prepared in front of you. We were still thinking about which restaurant to eat when we were persuaded by someone working for the restaurant. I did not set my expectations ahead of time since I know that this area is about local cuisine not haute cuisine. There was five of us in our party, the food was very good, and the portions were large. There are many locals in this area, they are very friendly and nice. Take some time and walk around this area and soak up the atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 316sas101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Fry's also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Fish Fry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing