We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nassau Institution”

The Cricket Club Pavillion
Ranked #43 of 278 Restaurants in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Pub, Bahamian, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
159 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A Nassau Institution”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Overlooking the cricket pitch, underneath historic Fort Charlotte, there is something very colonial about the Cricket Club. Despite that, the Cricket Club is not a tourist trap, far from it. The Cricket Club is a place where locals gather. For informal meals. For socialising. For (casual) business meals. And for good reason: The food - a blend of Bahamian and British flavors - is good, the prices are fair, the atmosphere is jovial... what more can we ask for?

Service is hit and miss here. While it is always (always!) friendly, it can at times be very slow.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oceans242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    85
    22
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
370 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“The real deal”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Coming to a foreign country is about feeling a part of that authentic and unique experience. A meal at the Cricket Club did that for me - I now feel like what it would be like to live here as a resident, and for that I am most grateful. Atlantis is the most famous attraction of Nassau area and most restaurants there could be anywhere in the world. The Cricket Club puts you squarely in Nassau - and the food is just perfect. Until you have had a lobster pot pie here, you just haven't been in the Bahamas. Or the Conch salad. Or a Kalix or Sands beer. I love feeling like I am having a 'non-Disney' introduction to a country and I had it here - and will be forever grateful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sfdann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Watch cricket with a pint of Guinness”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This has a really nice atmosphere for cricket lovers, with an English owner whom I have seen there for many years. When a match is in progress it has a great authentic feel, and you can sit on the first floor balcony with the scorers close by! A good selection of draught beers, and who expects exceptional food at this type of venue? If you are there for the food, go elsewhere, as it is good every day fare and a fairly wide selection with ample portions and no room on the plate for the occasional cricket ball which comes hurtling up from below. Plenty of parking, which is rare in Nassau. A great mix of fellow customers. And it is an easy walk along the coast from Downtown Nassau where the cruise ships dock. A nostalgic piece of New Providence. Go there!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadtripparsnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Casual Dining”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

They had a live band which was good. We sat right in front of them which was very loud so we didn't get to do much socializing. The service was good. They offer a wide variety of food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't believe what is acceptable anymore....”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have never, ever had service this bad, anywhere, bar none! Waiter informed the table that he couldn't waste paper for individual billing - he assumed "we'd all been to grade school, eh?". Also informed us quite coldly, when we protested his lack of customer service by saying we could take our business elsewhere, "Please do..."! When I asked his name the other servers gave it willing. I spoke to Chris the owner, whose response was worse than this server, since it is his business and had more to lose! He didn't apologize, in spite of the fact that he was told that we had been invited to take our business elsewhere....crazy stuff when you run a service business and allow money to walk out the door.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hotasasix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cricket Club Pavillion also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to The Cricket Club Pavillion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing