We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite restaurant at the Cove”
Review of Mesa Grill - CLOSED

Mesa Grill
Price range: $25 - $100
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Frisco, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant at the Cove”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was a fabulous treat. Bobby Flay's Mesa Grill was my favorite meal during this trip. The restaurant is on property at The Cove. The margaritas were yummy. They have a full menu of margaritas with some interesting/different choices. The food was very good. The atmosphere was awesome.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

940 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    243
    132
    63
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Delicious”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had dinner twice during our recent stay at The Cove; once was a spur-of-the-moment dinner and once with reservations. Without reservations, they seated us almost immediately. Wait staff were friendly and attentive; food was very good. I would definitely recommend. Since we were there in a slow month, reservations weren't necessary, but during high season, they are surely recommended, and probably needed!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gailmy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

If you are in Atlantis, and you don't want to leave Atlantis go to Mosaic, it is a buffet but the food is great and more reasonable than MESA.

If you do want to leave the grounds go to the fish fry and try O Andros. It was my favorite meal in the Bahamas. I got the whole snapper fresh off the boat, with 3 side dishes for $12. The side dishes were awesome.

Helpful?
Thank Hammy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have to start by saying I am not a fan of southwestern food so I am not crazy about Mesa Grill. Though I am a fan of Bobby Flay's. We had a party of 5 and my wife and our friends loved the food. They stated that it was incredible. We found the staff to also be incredible. They were very nice, had great personalities and were constantly checking on us. Mesa is very expensive though and maybe that is to be expected. Our bill including a moderate tip of 15% (their standard) was around $550. But we did tip extra because again, service was incredible !! We will go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mnpnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What we expected”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Both the food and service were above average (both probably deserving 3.5 stars). I started with a jalapeño margarita that was good but not great. Instead of jalapeño infused simple syrup, there was a piece of jalapeño in the drink. Wine selection was also average and overpriced compared to other places on the island. I guess I expected that at Atlantis though.

Five of us had the ceviche, pancake and tuna tartare to start. Portions across the board were generous. The pancake and ceviche were the most flavorful while the tartare (which seems to be on every menu on Paradise Island) was average. We asked the waiter for entree suggestions and he didn't disappoint. The pork tenderloin was one of the most flavorful and tender preparations I've had recently. It was also cooked perfectly. The mahi mahi and grouper were also flavorful and prepared well, although the grouper was a bit over cooked. The final member of our party had a sirloin steak that was nothing special and extra pricey.

Dessert was a highlight for me. I ordered the banana cream pie, which arrived as two cookies with some type of banana pudding in between them with whipping cream. Despite my lack-luster description, it was delicious. The toffee pudding was actually pudding instead of a cake and tasted as if it was boxed.

Overall, it was what we expected: pricey and above average food at a large resort. Would I return? Probably given the dining options in large resorts like Atlantis all serve up the same impersonal theatrical-like experience.

Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mesa Grill also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Paradise Island, New Providence Island
 
Paradise Island, New Providence Island
Paradise Island, New Providence Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing