We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, Good food and a very casual, comfortable setting”
Review of The Poop Deck

The Poop Deck
Ranked #13 of 278 Restaurants in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $42
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Mattawan, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great view, Good food and a very casual, comfortable setting”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Our annual family destination Christmas includes taking turns picking restaurants. This was a great family spot, the view is outstanding, the food was very good, and the bartender is awesome.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Birdietune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    600
    304
    93
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Poop Poop De Do”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We walked to the East Bay location from the Atlantis. It wasn't quite the easy stroll others made it out to be, since you first have to get up and over the incoming Paradise Island Bridge (only one with a sidewalk). I'd say it's a good 2 mile walk. We didn't walk back.

The restaurant is up a flight of stairs. As you come back past the bar, there is display on the right with all of the fresh fish on ice for preparation anyway you wish. Most seating is on a deck overlooking the harbor. Across the harbor is the Paradise Island Harbor Resort. In the distance can be seen the Atlantis Royal Towers.

I stuck to the regular menu and had Mama Mary's Fish. The grouper seemed a little bit dry despite being simmered in onions, tomatoes, sweet peppers and spices. This was my first dinner in Nassau, so I was surprised that the simmerings were rather bland. It didn't even have the mild kick I was expecting. As my two sides, I had garlic potatoes (good) and coleslaw (average). My wife had a house salad she liked with a vinaigrette dressing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thatvideoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great food, service and view in Nassau”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Great dinner at the Poop Deck. The service was friendly and professional. We sat inside as it was a windy night but the outside seating is breathtaking. Right on the beach! Food was excellent, probably the best shrimp I have had in years. Our party also had the fresh herb grouper which was also perfect. Sides were peas and rice, a local dish, and fresh vegetables which were perfectly cooked. Limited dessert menu, some key lime, banana cream or other pie would be a nice addition. Easy to get to with the number 10 local bus.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ParisLibellule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

great food, we go every time we are on the island. service is great and seating on the beach is the best. we have done dinner for 4 and dinner for 40 and each time is perfect. cant wait to go back in may

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Friendly service. Great views. Good ambience.”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal at the Poop Deck during the Christmas break. Although it can get very busy and noisy, it is definitely worth it! If you can, try to call ahead and make reservations. Our reservation got us a great table with an AMAZING view of the boats in the harbour. It was a wonderful way to spend an evening! Great fish selection and many chicken and meat options for those who aren't fish lovers. The mahi mahi is wonderful as is the conch chowder. I would come back just for the chowder it's THAT good!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TO-ski-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Poop Deck also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to The Poop Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing