We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chosen by need . . . ended up a great feed!”

Graycliff Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 276 Restaurants in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Graycliff Restaurant's cuisine epitomizes elegance in the finest continental and Bahamian tradition with a menu that is both tasteful and distinctive.The secret recipes at Graycliff have set its reputation in the hallmark of the rich and famous. Creative culinary innovation has resulted in a variety of sumptuous dishes that is distinctly its own. Bahamian dishes have been creatively transformed into sophistication and refinement with the end result being an international reputation for Bahamian cuisine. Your evening at the restaurant begins as you sink into the depths of a sofa in the parlor with its sophisticated high ceilings and tranquil feeling. Within moments you will peruse the menu, while one of the bar waiters tends to your favorite cocktail. Having placed your dinner order, when your appetizers are ready, you are then escorted to your table to enjoy your meal. PLEASE NOTE WE HAVE A DRESS CODE: ELEGANT (GENTLEMEN MUST WEAR LONG PANTS). The restaurant has five air-conditioned dining rooms. Each room has a special allusion to the era when Graycliff was a private home from the Library to the Gallery, where the family would retire after dinner to play cards.Following dinner you are invited to once again relax and enjoy the rest of your evening with an after-dinner cognac or cigar and live grand piano music every night. Wines, Cognacs, Armagnacs and Ports Graycliff's Wine Cellar is world renowned and the wine list has won the prestigious Wine Spectator Grand Award since 1988. The wine cellar has an inventory of over 250,000 bottles from over 400 vintners in 15 countries. Ask the sommelier for a tour of the wine cellar. In addition to the considerable wine inventory, Graycliff also boasts one of the largest selections of Cognacs, Armagnac, Port and vintage malt whiskys. We have a cognateque with a great number of museum pieces bottles. The Graycliff main house was built in 1740 by a reformed pirate. The breathtaking hand painted pool is the first one in the Bahamas and the ruins of the oldest church can still be seen. Graycliff also has a cigar factory on property, a cigar roller at night shows his art in the parlor. During the day a visit to our Chocolatier is a must and you can also take a chocolate complete tour of the factory.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
255 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Chosen by need . . . ended up a great feed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Off our cruise ship for just a day, we toured Nassau by foot,and maximized every second in port. After two museums we were famished, and our next stop was in this neighborhood. Not wanting to backtrack and go further out of our way, we stopped into the Graycliff for lunch as it was the only restuarant around. What a delightful surprise! This is a quaint, I would say old-style establishment attached to a hotel. The place looks like it was once a huge house, with rooms set up for dining, or a whole room of couches for enjoying a cigar and glass of cognac. We opted for lunch, where too many waiters tried to assist us. While not exactly a bad thing to have many assistants, it got a little confusing on who did what! But nevertheless, we selected our lunch off a somewhat expensive but nicely assorted menu. I chose the grouper with rice and peas (which in the US are actually black beans!). The grouper was amazing - a simple tomato-based sauce that was nicely spiced - and the serving was huge, especially given the gourmet nature of the place! The rice was nicely seasoned again (although maybe a little dry, but I liked it anyway), and generously portioned. The side of steamed vegetables maintained a nice crispness. My husband opted for a side salad and the conch chowder, which he enjoyed a lot. He accepted a suggested splash of "sherry pepper" and was in heaven! asking for a second dose! Careful though - it is spicey, hubby reported. With the bread they offered butter or oil, a welcome substitution, which you could self-spice with sea salt and cracked pepper on each table. Again, pricey (our lunch totaled $60 with tip), but we found the food and atmosphere a wonderful surprise.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MyTwoCent s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    141
    74
    39
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A True Gem in the Caribbean!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We recently visited the Graycliff Hotel for dinner and OMG! What an incredible experience! From the moment you cross the threshold, you feel like you've gone back in time to another era. From cocktails in the living room listening to the beautiful music from the baby grand piano to a dinner that was simply divine in every single aspect, our night was truly memorable! After dinner, we toured the wine cellar and were mesmerized by this amazing collection. A high point of the evening was meeting Enrico and Anna Maria - what a delightful couple! We visit Nassau every year and we will most definitely be adding Graycliff to our list of "musts" for our next visit!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldpawz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We go back every year!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Every year we go back to Graycliff. The manager and the team gives you an exceptional dinner and having a drink in the sitting room with the piano player is marvelous.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juliem790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This restaurant has seen better days.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

I have visited Nassau, Bahamas every summer for the last 12 years. I always like to eat at the downtown restaurants, visiting the regular spots with Graycliff being one of my favorites. Unfortunately, this year, the entire dinner was a major disappointment. I will say they are very attentive, making you feel at home upon arrival, drinking in the parlor as you peruse the menu.

They do have an impressive wine list, however the sommelier was clearly pushing the more expensive wines. We were not led to the requested dining room, at the time of our reservation, but were brought to the gallery, and told the library room was closed for the evening.

The roasted beet salad, was from a can. The grouper was way overdone, and tough as nails. The mushroom risotto was more like oatmeal. For a 5 star restaurant, they should be ashamed. What's happened?

Take my advice and eat elsewhere. It's just not worth the money they charge.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GloriaJean99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graycliff, General Manager at Graycliff Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear GloriaJean99,

Thank you for being a loyal customer for the past 12 years and I’m glad that when you visit you feel at home with us.

As the first 5-star restaurant in the Bahamas and Caribbean we hold ourselves to very high standards to maintain and surpass that status with every meal. Our risotto is made to order with Italian Carnaroli rice which produces a creamier texture to the risotto; the beets are roasted on a daily basis (Chef is appalled that you thought they came out of a can); and we’re one of two restaurants in Nassau that buys our fresh Nassau Grouper whole, a fish that even if it was overdone is never tough. I am very distressed to learn your experience with us on this occasion was unsatisfactory; our Chef takes great pride in the food his kitchen produces. I wish that the maître d’ was made aware, and chef would have immediately addressed the issue.

As a rule, our reservationists note a guest’s dining room preference and the Maître d’ does his best to satisfy that request. But we cannot promise.

Our Sommeliers assist customers with selections that best suit the meal that is about to be consumed regardless of price. And certainly if a guest indicates a price point they are happy to make suggestions within those parameters, as you said we have a large list and any request can be deliciously accommodated.

I do hope that you will return to see us on your next trip to The Bahamas. Please do not hesitate to email me directly at gm [at] graycliff.com next time prior to your visit so that I can personally welcome you to the island’s only true five-star restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice and romantic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We felt like we were in a True Blood episode. The grandeur of Graycliff was extraordinary. It was amazing, all the history in the decor. It is definitely a special place. Guys, great place to propose or celebrate an anniversary. We took a walk outside after dinner and the pool was incredible. It was gorgeous! Have the escargot for sure. They delivered a lobster appetizer to our table by accident (which they gave us complimentary). We enjoyed it very much but the winner was the escargot!!! The wine list is extensive and yummy. Go hungry and with a fat wallet, it is dining at it's best!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kissjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Graycliff Restaurant also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Graycliff Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing