We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service and great location”
Review of Athena Cafe & Bar

Athena Cafe & Bar
Ranked #3 of 280 Restaurants in Nassau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $38
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean, Bahamian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of downtown Bay Street, Athena cafe offers the authentic greek cuisine with a Bahamian flare. Not only you can find the traditional greek favorites here but also Bahamian delicacies such as conch, snapper, grouper and lobster! We are a true, family operated business that want everyone to feel like family as soon as they enter. Have a choice to sit at our cosy bar, our air conditioned dining room or the lively verandah.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food, great service and great location”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This one of my husband and mine's favorite restaurants. Right on Bay Street, the balcony serenely overlooks the hustle & bustle below. The seafood's so fresh it was probably swimming this morning. Couple that with a wonderfully friendly and attentive staff and delicious Greek specialties and creative daily specials- what more is there to life? Opa!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    211
    53
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Would like to go back!!”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Good food. Good location for lunch! We enjoyed it!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roo3m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great food, wonderful atmosphere, fantastic people”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

My wife and I absolutely loved this place and could have sat there all evening just watching the crowds go by.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doddegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Greek food although a little pricey”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Authentic Greek restraurant somewhat upscale although welcome of casually dressed patrons. The food was outstanding although pricey compared to other local dining options. Our total bill was about $250 for family of four with 2 appetizers, grouper (delicius

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ghm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“How do you spell fantastic Greek cuisine? ATHENA Cafe”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We have made it a tradition to go to this wonderful restaurant every time we visit Nassau, FYI, it is always our first stop and we have an excellent lunch to kick off our vacation. Absolutely enjoyable and Pete and his family are fun and entertaining. They make you feel like you are eating at home with relatives. The fish is great and the entire menu is authentic Greek 100%. Who would think that you could get such a wonderful ethnic eating experience in downtown Nassau? OPA! Antonio & Cristina

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ToneMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athena Cafe & Bar also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Athena Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing