We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Date Night”
Review of Mahogany House

Mahogany House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Mahogany House was built on the belief that simple is good. A seasonal menu highlighting native organic ingredients and fresh local fish. Mahogany House is also known for its outstanding artisanal pizzas and distinctive wine list. A space that feels comfortable and real, somewhere that you can either grab a pizza and beer in flip-flops or a classic Bordeaux in Brioni.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect for Date Night”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We love Mahogany House. My boyfriend and I have chosen Mahogany as our date night scene several times and we always leave happy. The host greets you with a smile at the door, and ushers you to your reserved seat if you have one. We usually sit at the bar as it is a little removed from the noise of the main dining area (the only downfall of the place - acoustics). However, there are two outdoor seating areas that are surrounded by a lovely garden; these areas are better suited to groups in my opinion. NOW the food and drink! The serving staff is very attentive and quick. We like taking our time perusing the extensive wine list, it's likely the most interesting on the island. They also have a decent list of martinis and cocktails. What we really go for is the meat and cheese board, which is to die for. They have several choices of fresh meats and cheeses that are served with nuts and a chutney. We are in heaven at Mahogany because of this board as it seems impossible to find a restaurant that knows how to prepare a proper cheese board, and we love cheese! There are also many other menu items like pizzas, pastas, main dishes, and a range of delicious appetizers. Apart from the dining, they also have a specialty shop that you pass through to gt to the dining room. Here they sell specialty chocolates, soaps, wines, and other items. I highly recommend Mahogany House to any couple or group who is looking for a semi-casual place to have a fantastic meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    48
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Tuna Tartar Ever!!!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Second visit to this restaurant - a must for fine dining in Nassau. It is a short drive from hotels in Cable Beach but a little far if you are staying in Atlantis or downtown - but absolutely worth it. The tuna tartar was the best raw runa we have ever had - delightful with a hint of soy, marin (spelling?) and spices. The chicken livers were delicious, too. (Chicken livers not something you can order everywhere and be great) The lamb was mouth-watering and the spaghetti was not bland - not spicy....but flavorable. Some entrees came in two sizes which is nice for the smaller appetites. We ordered the arugula salad with parmesan...very nice flavor. Everything is presented well with an artistic flair. There is a broad selection of fine wines, the atmosphere hip and modern, and the bar seems to be "the place" for lots of conversation. Make reservations, though, or you will be out of luck....the restaurant packs out even during the week.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ckp18f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very pleasant experience”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Nicely situated amidst trees. Outdoor or indoor dining. Inviting cocktail bar. Very good service. Started with steamed mussels ....very nice. The highlight was the blackened snapper served on a bed of shrimp and grits. This was exceptional. Snapper was perfectly seasoned. I am not a big fan of grits, but there were so many jumbo shrimp in the grits, it saved the day. A lovely flavour combination. The only negative was they were all out of Sambucca , which I had ordered at the end of the meal! Hoped they have restocked!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samahab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Everything you could ask for: outstanding”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Located not far from Lyford Cay it is about as good as it gets in Nassau. The people, everyone, were not only friendly but engaging. This is certainly not always the case in Nassau. You enter through a wine store like building and then on int to the bar area and restaurant. The food was excellent and the service was better. Talking with the manager gave us an appreciation as to why we liked it so much. I will be back in Nassau shortly and will be going again,

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wkirk500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrentham, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“one of the better places to have dinner”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

away from the crowds - great atmosphere, food and service are all above average. A little hard to find if you don't know about it - but worth the effort.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donnarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahogany House also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Mahogany House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing