We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mahogany House” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mahogany House

Mahogany House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Mahogany House was built on the belief that simple is good. A seasonal menu highlighting native organic ingredients and fresh local fish. Mahogany House is also known for its outstanding artisanal pizzas and distinctive wine list. A space that feels comfortable and real, somewhere that you can either grab a pizza and beer in flip-flops or a classic Bordeaux in Brioni.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mahogany House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This has become one of my favorite restaurants in Nassau, great food and nice wine selection, good service. The location is up on the hill near Lyford Cay, not on the water but set in a nice little wooded location. They also have a seperate store you come through from the parking area with wines, cheeses, etc. to go. Indoor and outdoor dinning areas available, if it's cool the patio is a bit more quiet.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank farriscapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    46
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NASSAU
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“average food in a chic, modern atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Mahogany has a beautifully ( tropical) landscaped entrance with a gourmet shop in the front. Great seating in the back and I would highly recommend it for weekend drinks with appetizers. Cheese platter with fresh honeycomb was lovely. I was not so impressed with the entrees. I would definitely return for their house wine, friendly staff and appetizers, but I may skip dinner!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drnassaugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hidden Culinary Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Mahogany House was my favorite restaurant we went to in Nassau on our latest trip. Our friends live on the island and just discovered this amazing new restaurant. It was worth the extra drive to eat at this hidden gem! I was very impressed with the chefs skills and the artisan interesting menu. I felt like i was in a 5* restaurant in Miami. We went for my husbands Birthday dinner on a Monday night. It was not busy and we had a lot of attention from the waiter and even the chef. The lighting is warm and tastefully done and wine bottles are racked up along the walls.
The prices were not low, but I've seen higher at other restaurants on Paradise Island.
I ordered the heirloom tomato toasted bread as an starter and the snapper entree. Both were very flavorful and fresh and had many local vegetables. Everyone was very happy with their meals. We got a bottle of Malbec off the menu that was slightly cheaper than the wine list. They recently raised the bottle prices.
My husband loved the fresh snapper ceviche starter!
The waiter were very sweet and put a candle on the chocolate cake dessert that we all dove into. As we left we took some photos in the path that is a tropical paradise, another reminder that we were far from New York!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LJA_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Local Review”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We wanted to go here for months. It was a few minutes before we were greeted upon arrival. We made reservations but the reservation had not been recorded. The host made us wait another few minutes before speaking with his staff about the confusion only to tell us we were just out of luck. He said they had a big party and could not accommodate. Won't be coming back.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
155 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Modern and exceptionally chic and stylish hangout far from the maddening crowd”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Impressively nice atmosphere for chillaxin!! The quality of food is inconsistent and generally,basic at best but the cocktails are consistently on point. The stylish atmosphere always wins me over for repeat visits.So, fer sur' a must do item for all and once is definitely not enough!!!

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Monalisa43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahogany House also viewed

Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 
Nassau, New Providence Island
Nassau, New Providence Island
 

Been to Mahogany House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing