We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach, water- good snorkeling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honeymoon Beach

Honeymoon Beach
Book In Advance
$49.00*
and up
Beach Day Pass at Honeymoon Beach in St John
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled at Caneel Bay, this picture perfect, palm fringed beach boasts a colorful coral reef perfect for snorkeling.
East Chatham, New York, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, water- good snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Easy walk from the parking lot - small, quiet beach except for the intermittent snorkeling expeditions that stopped there- the snorkeling is nice at the far end - nice outcroppings of coral - easy to find a relaxing spot to sit- for us it was the picture perfect beach

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    108
    31
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Coral is not as healthy as it was a few years ago and the beach is overcrowded with boat tourists. Apparently there are more boats on Tuesdays and Wednesdays so other days might be better.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank countrydoc9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous. Personal favorite beach on island.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My favorite beach on the island by far (out of those we visited, Trunk, Cinnamon, Maho, Hawksnest). We hiked from town and arrived around 11 AM to a mostly deserted beach, we had rented chairs/kayaks/snorkel gear for the day but we probably only needed the snorkel gear, the rest wasn't worth it. The snorkeling was awesome, I saw turtles, tons of fish, gorgeous coral and fans, HUGE sea urchins and a handful or rays. The water was so incredibly clear I could hardly believe it (first trip to the Caribbean for me!) I like that the hike makes the beach a little less crowded and since it's the furthest for the folks at Caneel it was basically empty the whole time we were there. We walked up to Caneel for lunch, overpriced but it was actually really good so I can't complain much.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is our second trip to St John and what we do is hike to Salomon Beach first [our favorite beach on St John] and then hike over to Honeymoon Beach right next door. Honeymoon gets crowded with the charter snorkeling boats early afternoon. But as soon as the boats leave, it is a great spot to snorkel. We have gotten lucky and spotten several turtles there both times. Also a small nurse shark right on the rocks close to shore.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dv50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Gorgeous Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Not crowded and absolutely stunning! This is one of the best beaches we visited on the island. You have to walk a little ways to get there, but it's plenty worth it and it seems to keep the crowds away.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HannahH1hbanana24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honeymoon Beach also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Honeymoon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing