We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Honeymoon Beach

Honeymoon Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Beach Day Pass at Honeymoon Beach in St John
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled at Caneel Bay, this picture perfect, palm fringed beach boasts a colorful coral reef perfect for snorkeling.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Beach!”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Just a short hike from the main road, kayak/snorkel/standup paddle board rentals from VI Ecotours, restrooms, nice sandy beach and sea turtles, what more do you need!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginIslandsEcotour, Manager at Honeymoon Beach, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Honeymoon Beach on St John. We appreciate feedback of any kind and strive to deliver a fun, relaxing s & memorable time in the Virgin Islands. We hope you return on your next visit and take one of our tours for 10% off. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    126
    38
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A gorgeous beach, but...”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

In our past twenty odd years of coming to St. John, this had become one of our favorite secluded beaches -stunning vista, warm, gentle surf, the softest white powdery sand, and both sun and shade as you like, but this past year the good people at Caneel Bay have decided to exploit its popularity by developing the back area into shops and another opportunity for revenue. While this isn't necessarilty a bad thing (who doesn't like a cold drink on the beach?), it has created a greater attraction, making this once moderately secluded spot into a crowd attraction. Again, this is not a negative transformation, just a transformation into something different than what we had come to love. I guess the honeymoon is over!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Davis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginIslandsEcotour, Manager at Honeymoon Beach, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Honeymoon Beach on St John. We appreciate feedback of any kind and strive to deliver a fun, relaxing s & memorable time in the Virgin Islands. Virgin Islands Ecotours owns a small hut in the back of the beach that rents water-sports equipment. We are very invested in maintaining the natural beauty of the beach and dedicated to the upkeep of the whole area. It is important to us to be as eco friendly and respectful to the entire island. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“something for everyone”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We went to Honeymoon Beach via Caneel Bay Resort today. Although, we planned to go to Caneel Bay Beach,, we were politely encouraged by Caneel Bay Resort security to hike a bit farther and go to Honeymoon Beach. We were not put off by this and we were not disappointed. Honeymoon Beach is beautiful. There is sun. There is shade. There is a crystal blue water and some reef for snorkling. There is a hiking trail to Cruz Bay for those who get bored. There are amenities - both cheap and pricey - Caneel Bay Resort, which is a good way to get free parking although tab will be more than 20 bucks. Finally, history buffs will enjoy the old sugar mill ruins. My opinion: a great way for a family of 4 (including 2 teens) to spend a day! If you like privacy, however, not the beach for you!

Helpful?
Thank hevans9040
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
VirginIslandsEcotour, Manager at Honeymoon Beach, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Honeymoon Beach on St John. We appreciate feedback of any kind and strive to deliver a fun, relaxing s & memorable time in the Virgin Islands. We are thrilled you enjoy Honeymoon Beach as much as we do! We hope you return on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great beach for teens”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We hiked in from Cruz Bay early with 2 adults and 2 teens. The trail is quite rocky and was a bit of an effort (it is not easy as a number of reviews mention if you are carrying anything for a day at the beach). Travel light if you can and do NOT wear flip flops. We arrived purposely early to this picturesque beach, almost alone, laid down our towels and not 3 minutes later an excursion dinghy disgorged its passengers dead center between our towels on this what has to be at least a 1/4 mile long or more beach. Couldn't have been much after 10am. The beach and water are beautiful but it is an excursion target for sure. I would recommend getting there early and selecting a site to left side of the beach, toward Salomon. It seems less crowded and was away from the preferred center beach path for the incoming dinghies. Left side is further from the Eco Tours shack and Caneel food and rentals but that end seemed pretty crowded. Left side is also closer to the good snorkeling around the rocks. The snorkeling was pretty good though not on Waterlemon level, what is? Seemed like a good number of interesting fish, turtles and rays all day in the see grass, and we popped over to Salomon which was almost deserted and is just a stunning little beach. We had previously rented kayaks and paddle boards at Cinnamon but for our teens, if they hadn't already done that, would have loved the rental option at Honeymoon and it probably would have been a better value with their 50/day deal. So our family loved Honeymoon and we'll go back.

Tips: Don't under estimate the sun. We were blessed with nearly cloudless weather for days and it took a burn toll and we were being careful. Long sleeve rash guards for snorkeling are recommended, especially for pasty white Minnesotans. We might consider rash pants, or light wet suit, for snorkeling next time (dorky but if this wasn't our last full day, we wouldn't have been able to go back to the beach). Heavily sunblock the back of your legs and neck. A whole day splashing and snorkeling wiped us out for the walk back. It was tough. Next time we'll park at Caneel but the hike was worth it once.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eagleeye010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Honeymoon, can't go wrong!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My girlfriend and I came here one day during our stay in the USVI. This beach is great for all day fun and activities. We paid the $49 day pass which gave us full access to the stand up paddle boards (SUP), kayaks, beach chairs, lockers, and floats. The beach is clean and roomy and the snorkeling is good. Only gripe is the small restrooms that were dimly lit and a little dirty. The mens room was missing paper towel to dry with (not the end of the world) and other than that no complaints. The short hike from Caneel Bay Resort allows access to Honeymoon and it a nice hike that isn't very challenging (5 minutes).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Kallibrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honeymoon Beach also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Honeymoon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing