We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So So Beach” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Honeymoon Beach

Honeymoon Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Beach Day Pass at Honeymoon Beach in St John
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled at Caneel Bay, this picture perfect, palm fringed beach boasts a colorful coral reef perfect for snorkeling.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So So Beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Beach is very small and seemed very dark. There is no comparison verses Scott's beach and Turtle beach. I would not go to Honeymoon beach as the other two blow this one away.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MWG540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    122
    37
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Bays at St.John's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

loved this bay, and what a surprise, driver dropped us off at the side of the road, steep walk down hill, narrow trail that opened up thru the mangrove trees to a white sandy beach and tourquise water! just beautiful. there is a changing/restroom facility, and snack hut, that also rents chairs, snorkels and fins. What a perfect way to spend the afternoon. there was an easier walk out, thru a service road that lead to a resort and old sugar mill.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sunmomHilton_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful - but can get very crowded!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I love this beach! The hike is fairly easy, as long as it isn't muddy. My only complaint is that it is a beach that is a very popular spot for cruise ship and day sail passengers. When we showed up on our most recent trip to Saint John, the beach was packed. It was still beautiful as ever but absolutely full of people! We waited it out and within a few hours it was much less crowded. My fiancé tried snorkeling and was disappointed that most of the coral was dead. He did see some colorful fish!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank hopec38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sybille S, Owner at Honeymoon Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Beach Guest,

Thank you for choosing to visit St John, the Virgin Islands National Park and Honeymoon Beach. This is Spring Break week and you are correct in that when the cruise ship visitors are guided to the beach for a snorkel, it is quite busy for up to 45 minutes. Fortunately, there are so many palm trees and sea grape trees to create a greater sense of privacy.

Yes, there are many colorful fish to be seen in our turquoise blue waters. There are more colorful elkhorn corals on the West end of the beach between Honeymoon Beach and Solomon Beach. The oceans are warming around the world and coral reefs in all areas are suffering. However, the Friends of the VI National Park have installed boat moorings at Honeymoon Beach and the Park is now an anchorless park. This means that boats are no longer able to drop their anchors and destroy corals and seagrass beds. As a result, we have already seen a greater population of sea turtles ans sting rays at Honeymoon Beach which always delights the snorkelers.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Sybille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort smith
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Chair rentals, short hike if you take taxi from ferry to trail ... Wild donkeys, chickens... Soo much fun!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hike to this beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Pull on some sneakers or Tevas and take a short hike, some uphill, then a stroll, and wa-la--you are rewarded with this beautiful white sand beach.
There is lots of shade, great swimming, the sea floor is sandy until you get to the ends of the beach, where it gets rocky.
Had a great picnic under Sea Grape Trees, swam, but the swells prevented good snorkeling.
We videotaped wild donkeys frolicking in the trees on the way to the Ecotour hut, where you can buy supplies, food, or rent water items.
From here it is a short hike to Caneel Bay Beach which is famous, but not as pretty as Honeymoon.
LOVED THIS BEACH! We did this after 10 days of different beaches on St John, and agreed it was the prettiest one yet.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honeymoon Beach also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Honeymoon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing