We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caneel beach bar and grill a good choice”

Caneel Beach Bar And Grill
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Caneel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Caribbean
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Caneel beach bar and grill a good choice”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

It's always a treat to stop at caneel bay resort beach bar . Parking is easy , service is great, and the lunch menu has been expanded. Our party of 4 enjoyed their choices.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Delilahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    110
    65
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Two great lunches”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Though not staying at the Caneel Bay Resort, we went to Honeymoon Beach and to Caneel Beach on two separate occasions (you just have to pay a $20 parking fee, but parking can be validated if you eat lunch at one of the Caneel Bay Resort restaurants). Both times we had a nice late lunch at the Bar & Grill. Food is a little pricey - after all it's Caneel Bay and on St. John, but the staff is lovely, especially Johanna. She was one of the friendliest servers we had during our entire week stay on St. John. Personable, funny and very attentive to my 8 year old nephew. Thanks, Johanna. And thanks to Caneel Bay Resort for making people who aren't staying at the resort feel welcome.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BOSCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mcmurray
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Go for the view and service.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

While visiting St. John we stopped in for lunch and to check out their beach. Beautiful beach and view. We choose to eat upstairs on a patio overlooking the dock and beach. A little pricey, but the view and service made it well worth it. Food was excellent, our waiter I wish I could remember his name, think it started with an A, was one of the most attentive during our two week trip.

Helpful?
Thank thomas2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“good!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our group of six had an excellent lunch here, esp. the tropical fruit & chicken salad and the Greek salad with chicken. The service was excellent, a manager was handy and we praised our server to him - and the food.
Caneel Bay is a super resort and it is open to those who dine here. We just had lunch. Our waitress was nice enough to ask for our parking ticket to validate.
We walked thru the woods and passed wild, blonde donkeys grazing. Then we enjoyed a day at Honeymoon Beach, free of charge.
Excellent way to see the resort, experience the wonderful, secluded beach, and have some good food.
Love Caneel, even a glimpse is fun and memorable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eat_Swim_Read
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible employees”
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay at caneel bay but the concierge at our resort recommended that we check it out. We decided to go for lunch and then check out their beach. The resort is nice and lunch was ok. We spend about $70 for a salad, fish and chips and 2 drinks. Then we went to the beach, thinking we'd stay for an hour. The beach was nearly empty. Within 5 minutes we were told to get off the hotel chairs so we agreed to move. Less than a minute later another employee came by screaming at us and threatening to have us escorted off the property by security as if we were thieves. I just thought this was completely unnecessary and extremely rude, especially since we just spend good money on lunch and there were a ton of other chairs. It's not like we took the last 2. Also, I am 7 months pregnant and although I don't expect any special treatment, I think it's pretty awful to scream at a woman with a huge pregnant belly. If you are not staying at the resort, I wouldn't recommend visiting the resort given that there are plenty on better beaches, much better restaurants, and nicer people. Also, they will charge $20 for parking if you don't spend at least that much at the resort. So not worth it!

Helpful?
Thank drkec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caneel Beach Bar And Grill also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Caneel Beach Bar And Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing