We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caneel Bay is an understated but luxurious paradise”
Review of Caneel Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Caneel Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caneel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Caneel Bay is an understated but luxurious paradise”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Caneel did so many things right on our trip to St. John's starting with the warm reception and the ferry across from St. Thomas to St. John's. The beaches were absolutely fabulous and natural and plenty. You could get a rum punch and delicious meal brought to you, or choose to lay low and soak in the beauty while laying on a spectacular spread of sand, palm trees, and an understated but comfortable beach chaise. The people were warm and friendly and helpful. While taking in the visual beauty of the island from the beach, we did not see high rise buildings that were well lit and impressive, instead we saw buildings that were strategically modest from the outside and tucked away under lush greenery. We could fully appreciate the contours of what Mother Nature intended on this impressive island. The food was superb in all on site venues we sampled from room service to the breakfast buffet to the bar to the restaurants although one was being renovated (Zozo's) in August while we were there. I have stayed in many nice places before, but I have to say that this resort was perfect and exceeded my expectations in all categories. I plan to go back as soon as I can.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the main area, don't get a room near the gym. However, the gym is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    125
    59
    39
    17
See reviews for
169
386
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lufkin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I cannot believe what I am reading. The beauty of this island of all of the resorts is incomparable....It is not about your cell phone service or tv, dah....and if the staff was rude, it was most likely as a result of your attitudes. Those of you that rated Caneel Bay Resort less than paradise flat missed what it was all about. I am so sorry you are so miserable. This place is paradise in itself without any ammenities. Perhaps if you were nicer to staff and appreciated where you were you would have had a better experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Milagrosteahouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We recently had a wedding at Caneel Bay and though the wedding & setting were gorgeous, the service was not at all up to par. Managerial staff were quite nice but had very poor (!) follow through. Service staff was excellent. Beaches were perfect.

Remember... nothing (!) in the Caribbean is urgent - so go with that in mind.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bowswer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York, Usa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

5+ star beach. 3 star restaurants. 2 star room. 1 star value. I used to love this place when it had a clearly defined identity - very luxurious eco resort. There was no phone, no AC, but the property was full of charm and atmosphere. But great beach and rich history spoiled the management, especially since it became a part of Rosewood chain. I heard the local capital bought it back from Rosewood and now it became independent. I hope they get the old glory back. You need a lot of facelifts. A lot.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank okiyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
253 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Second stay at caneel in great beachfront room on hawks nest. Housekeeping did a great job. The beach was pretty dirty each morning but was then raked by workers. We found the no phone issue annoying this time. On three occasions we were told Zozos was full and each time we showed up there were at least ten open tables. This was very annoying. Zozos is excellent. Biggest issue came day after sushi at the beach grill. Doctors were not able to confirm food poisoning or some kind of infection but I was subsequently sick for a week. Caneel is beautiful and the beaches are great but for the money it misses the mark.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank travelnut2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmora, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Having traveled all over the Caribbean islands and Hawaii, no resort comes close to the natural beauty and gorgeous beaches like Caneel. We are spending our 35th Anniversary here this week . The staff and service has been amazing. The restaurants have all been wonderful and tonight I had the best Mahi Mahi I have ever had at ZoZos/Sugarmill. We love our cottage. Simply elegant and so comfortable. This resort has none of the overdone artificial glam of so many other places. It is just beautiful paradise!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CharZ3858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The hotel property on St. John's is amazing. They have 170 acres and they do an outstanding job of maintaining the property. They spread the rooms out along the beach in 5 and 10 room clusters of one or two stories so you almost feel you have the island to yourself. You see some people but not very many. It is a great couples location. It is a place for relaxing and enjoying the scenery. It is the polar opposite of a resort like Atlantis in the Bahamas.

The service at the resort was excellent. They make an effort to be friendly and accommodating.
The restaurants on the property were excellent also. We stayed 4 nights and never left the resort.

My only negative comment is that the air conditioner in the room is loud and sometimes made it difficult to sleep.

Room Tip: Scott Beach, Turtle Beach, and Hawk's nest beach all had great views and privacy. I would recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caneel Bay
1.3 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
4.7 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
9.1 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caneel Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caneel Bay Resort

Property: Caneel Bay Resort
Address: PO Box 720, Caneel Bay 00831-0720, St. John (Formerly Caneel Bay, A Rosewood Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Caneel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caneel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caneel Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Caneel Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caneel Bay, a Rosewood Hotel Caneel Bay
Caneel Bay a Rosewood Resort
Caneel Bay Resort St John
Caneel Bay St John

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing