We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beach resort in the US (excluding Hawaii)”
Review of Caneel Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caneel Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caneel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Best beach resort in the US (excluding Hawaii)”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We had a great time at Caneel Bay - the hotel is situated in a beautiful park with lush greens and wild animals, number of beautiful beaches to choose from, vanilla soft blue water, fantastic facilities and toys (kayak, sail) - especially for tennis. Courts are great and plenty and tennis pros are very friendly and good. Rooms are really basic for what you pay but Caneel is not about rooms, it s about the natural experience. We ate at Zozo's every night; which is on site. What a bonus that was - Zozo's has amazing food. Some folks who wrote reviews I notice got really disappointed with snorkeling - it certainly wasn't Jacques Cousteau documentary quality but there is enough close to the rocks to keep one entertained if you swim around a lot. St Johns is mostly about micro creatures, you gotta look for little eels, cleaner shrimps etc. I agree the reefs are better at some other Caribbean islands though. Diving was especially bad. I think the beaches were stunning though and overall we had a fantastic vacation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t-dev-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    125
    59
    39
    17
See reviews for
169
385
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

After a lot of research and reading many of the now removed reviews about Caneel Bay Resort, we decided to stay over the week of Thanksgiving.

We have to agree with some of the negative reviews about the service. While most of the staff are very friendly and helpful, some of them were indifferent and didn't want be bothered. Maid service was also somewhat inconsistent. The rooms can use some upgrade. We were glad we knew these issues going in so we did not expect perfection.

All that being said, our overall experience was great. We stayed at Caneel Bay with our 2 year old in a beachfront room on little caneel bay. It was very quiet and we had the whole beach to ourself most of the time. We arrived in our room with a nice big crib already set up. The resort also provided beach toys so you don't have to bring them. My daughter loved the room so much she called it her new house. They also have wifi service in the rooms and resteraunts. We were able to stream cartoons from Netflix for our daughter to watch when we need some quiet time to eat.

Snorkeling was very good from the right side of main caneel beach towards paradise beach. We saw turtles, squids and lots of fish.

We also read a lot of negative reviews about the food. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food at the Grill, Zozo's and Turtle Bay Estate House. Sushi was very fresh and delicious. The sushi chef Mr. Kim gave the most generous cuts of hamachi sashimi!

Overall this is a very laid back resort. It's not perfect. But at the end of the day, none of those small imperfections mattered because you are at one of the most serene, peaceful, relaxing and beautiful places on earth. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madison_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My husband and I were turned on to this resort by melissa harmon at Beach Bum Vacations...We have used their service many times and have been happy with the results, but not as happy as we were when we went to Caneel Bay on their recommendation! This is a great resort, beautiful island, and an overall great place to relax over thanksgiving week! We never go to the same place twice, but Caneel Bay may make us change our minds on that!

the resort is easy to get around and offers great restaurants. Cruz Bay is also a short taxi ride away...it offers other restaurant choices, shopping, and access to excursions. english is the prevailing language, the US dollar is the currency, and I always felt safe - even off the resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Spent Thanksgiving weekend in Caneel Bay, a first for both of us, and discovered that this is one of those rare places that exceed your hopes, the promise of the brochures, and the ravings on these travel sites. Well, believe me, it was even better. This place is one of those "bucket list" locations that you have to get to.
Arrived at the airport and found our way to the Caneel office, and were whisked off to the ferry in short order. The ferry was delayed a bit, but a Caneel employee stayed with us, giving us all a history of the island governance and other fascinating stories. The boat arrived and we zoomed off to the resort.
We were met at the dock by an employee who took us on a golf cart to our second floor room in Turtle Bay. It was dark by then, so no real "tour" of the property at this time, but she did give us a room orientation and answered any questions we had. The room was clean, spacious, well stocked with towels, etc, and a bottle or rum and a few sodas. We asked for an additional fridge (instead of removing things from the mini-bar and putting our stuff in there) and it was delivered before we got back from dinner. Nightly turn down service and room refreshing was a treat.
Restaurants were all great. Dinner first night in the bar area was good with lots of options (didn't try the sushi...apparently everyone else who goes there does!) Breakfast was included in our room rate, and it was a plentiful buffet with hot options, fruits, breads, cereals, something for everyone. We ate at Zozo's one night in a torrential downpour (they fit us in without reservations at the bar) and it was so good we went back the next night and sat at a table with a great view of the bay and St Thomas beyond. Afternoon Tea at the Estate House was a delightful break in the afternoon, surprisingly well attended.
The grounds were immaculate, with wildlife everywhere, reminding you that this is a National Park. The beaches were all incredible, seven total, and each had a different feel to it. Ours at Turtle Bay was a bit rough with strong waves that soothed us to sleep each night, and gently woke us in the morning. We snorkeled at Caneel Beach, Scotts Beach and Paradise, and saw an amazing assortment of fish, rays, turtles and coral. The watersports booth was well stocked with anything you might need, and floats are available there as well.
We rented a Jeep at the on-site rental office, and it was a blast seeing the entire island in a day. We taxied to Cruz Bay one night for dinner and shopping and it was the exact opposite of Caneel's peaceful vibe...it was busy, loud, and a bar every eight or ten feet it seemed. Couldn't wait to get back to the tranquility of the desert Island of Caneel.
The staff at Caneel was top notch, ranging from quiet to super friendly. Miss Stephanie at the restaurants stood out as excellent, remembering our names. Water Sports staff, including Desmond, Wednesday and Chico were all super accommodating, and Beryl who took care of our room was like a doting aunt, fussing over our every need. Even the shuttle drivers all had a quick smile and greeting.The guests were great too. It was fun to meet people who had been there many times over the years (one lovely woman we met had been coming for 46 years!) They were all happy to take us under their wing and offer us suggestions and tips on making our stay exceptional. Gelato was great in the little coffee shop, and even the gift shop had something for everyone.
Any complaints? Sure, if you let the little stuff bother you....like the guy downstairs smoking his two dollar cigars and polluting the air in our room, or the slobs that sat in the shuttle in wet bathing suits, soaking the seats and covering them with sand. But that has nothing to do with the resort itself. Go here for that special occasion, or for no reason at all, other than to get away from it all. It is even better than you can imagine. We will be back.

Room Tip: Spend the little extra for a beachfront room. The sound of the ocean, plus the proximity, makes it p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chiefy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Our family of 5, including two teenagers, had a wonderful time at caneel bay.
The 5 beaches are exquisite. Use of the paddle boards, kayaks, flippers. . .were just what our active family loved access to. We loved that this property had beautiful beaches to play on . . .snorkeling from one beach to another, hiking trails into the national forest, and tennis.

We have to give special kudos to the tennis pros at Caneel. Their attention and professionalism is fantastic. Donald found players on our teenage sons level to play with, and helped him schedule time on the courts.

We were pleasantly surprised that we were able to find vegan menu options for dinner. The ROTI with tofu was fabulous, the veggie burger and veg sushi yummy. I was even able to get soy milk for my coffee in the mornings.

One afternoon we walked the trail from honeymoon beach to cruz bay. Lovely walk and great to have dinner one night in "town"

I read many reviews regarding room placement etc. We were in room 1/2 and really enjoyed that location for our family as it was close to all of the activities, yet not on top of everything.

The only negative I would say is that I was disappointed that there was an extra charge for yoga/zumba/pilates.

We have stayed at properties on Virgin Gorda, Turks, and Belize. We would definitely consider this property again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ncabrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This was our second trip back to Caneel. Although the resort is still Beautiful, their focus on service seems to have changed. There is a huge focus on weddings and the wedding guests. It might be wise to separate the accommodations for wedding guests and everyone else. I heard this from all the "regular" guests who come to Caneel each year. On our second night there we were awoken by loud LIVE music in the room next to us(guitar, harmonica, drunken singing). It took three calls to security until it was broken up. At first they tried to tell me it was the reception. I would not advise staying near Turtle Bay as it is close to the Turtle Bay House where receptions are held.

Aside from this disturbance we still had a wonderful time. The breakfast was great, desserts at Zozo's were fabulous and of course the gelato was phenomenal! I hope Caneel doesn't loose their focus on all their regular guests. This is a wonderful resort with some of the most beautiful beaches and friendliest staff on St John.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We were absolutely thrilled with our 4-night stay at Caneel Bay Resort. What a beautiful property and what fantastic service! We couldn't ask for more during our vacation and we can't wait to return. We stayed in the Hawksnest Bay part of the resort with a room that walked right out onto the beach. Perfect! The room itself was better than I expected based on the photos I had seen and the bed was very comfy. The breakfast buffet had all sorts of goodies, even for a limited/picky eater like myself. The grounds were so walkable, the beauty from each beach was just stunning, the staff were so friendly, I just couldn't ask for more!! We will be back!!!!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fallseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caneel Bay
1.3 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
4.7 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
9.1 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caneel Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caneel Bay Resort

Property: Caneel Bay Resort
Address: PO Box 720, Caneel Bay 00831-0720, St. John (Formerly Caneel Bay, A Rosewood Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Caneel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caneel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caneel Bay Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Caneel Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caneel Bay, a Rosewood Hotel Caneel Bay
Caneel Bay a Rosewood Resort
Caneel Bay Resort St John
Caneel Bay St John

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing