We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous dining at sunset”

ZoZo's at the Sugar Mill
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Caneel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $38
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous dining at sunset”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

ZoZo's is in an olden times sugar mill on Caneel Bay Resort; that has had a smart renovation, preserving many of the original structural features and integrating them well into the entire design of the establishment.
We started with the wine list for drinks instead of cocktails and were pleasantly pleased to not only find a broad range of well known, high quality choices, but also to see there was not the usual resort/restaurant giant markups. It was more than equitably and had good price points and value. We then split 3 appetizers, the Pappardelle (totally awesome), the Cambozola (fantastic), and the Fra Diavolo clams with hot sausage.
Frankly after the three appetizers and a bottle of champagne, we were pretty full, but that didn't stop us, each ordered entrees - the jumbo shrimp on corn and risotto; and the grilled swordfish on orzo and brussels sprouts. We could not finish the bottle of Sancerre (a great value), which I paired for both. There was no room for dessert. The food, service, ambiance and sunset were all fabulous. I was fun to watch the lights of St Thomas come on after sunset
We could have dined there every night - so awesome that my friend called it "Epic" - I agree!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,356
    249
    90
    35
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
440 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Didn't think it could get better. It's a must visit”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Zozos always had the best food and views when they were at gallows and that hasn't changed with their new location. Food was out of this world and I love how accomodating the chef is. I asked for the mussels in the clams sauce and it was delicious. Then I had the black ink pasta with the mushrooms it was amazing. Really all six of us were blown away with our meals. The antipastas were out of this world! ZoZos does it again and our server was an awesome guy!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelqueen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant on the Island ”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Food was incredible and we felt like VIP's the whole night. Also the views of Canel Bay were amazing with the the sunset! This was our finest meal in our week we were on the island.

Helpful?
Thank dmbclstj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't leave the island without dining here!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The most wonderful, most romantic, wonderful sunset view, and excellent food and service. After dining at all the different places in Cruz Bay, which were good, we saved ZoZo's for our last night for a birthday celebration. How special. We LOVED everything about this place. The steaks were delicious, Our server (Matt) was personable and attentive, This is a must on your trip to St John.
Prices were very reasonable, no more than the very casual beach bar/restaurants we frequented all the other nights.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BethM923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Exquisite, gourmet evening on St. John”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

ZoZo's at The Sugar Mill in Caneel Bay is the place for a truly memorable evening. The space is to die for, the menu fresh and gourmet and the service impeccable. While food prices are high, the quality delivers. Furthermore, our group was surprised to see how little markup was added to the great selection of wines - impressive! I highly recommend the octopus, antipasto plate, and pappardelle to start and share. Entrees we enjoyed were a special bone-in veal chop, lobster ravioli, and the swordfish. Simply exquisite!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZoZo's at the Sugar Mill also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to ZoZo's at the Sugar Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing