We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Damaged by the hurricanes but still very nice

Located at Trunk Bay National Park this is a good starting point for new or experienced snorkelers... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
JudyK288
,
Boston, Massachusetts
Trunk Bay

Beautiful beach in the middle of a National park on St. John. Snorkeling was good. Saw fish... read more

Reviewed August 29, 2018
loriw560
,
Hillsboro, Oregon
via mobile
Read all 154 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Virgin Islands National Park
from $91.50
More Info
from $89.00
More Info
from $105.50
More Info
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveler rating
48
57
31
14
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
57
31
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underwater trail fish trunk bay st john national park beautiful beach an abundance warm water sea life octopus plaques reef beginners snorkel spot damage wildlife
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 154 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Like any popular attraction this can get so crowded you are not going to have fun. Check local papers for cruise ship schedules...go on the days with fewest cruise ships on St Thomas. They come over in droves and most do a loop that includes Trunk Bay, Bordeaux Mtn and North Shore views.

It is very pretty but very popular.

1  Thank hungrytraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Traveled with my 9 and 11-yr old. We all enjoyed the signs provided underwater so we know what we were seeing. We spotted a myriad of coral and brightly colored fish. The length of the trail was just right for most swimming abilities. If you are an experienced snorkeler, the trail is pretty basic. But, I've never seen anything like it on the mainland U.S., so it was exciting for this Midwestern Family!

Date of experience: July 2011
1  Thank SmokeyBlueTulle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2007

This trail is great snorkeling for beginners as the underwater signs explain the fish and coral you are viewing, and you feel really safe swimming out not far from the beach. We also rented equipment on the beach for a few dollars. We were there on a day the beach was empty (Memorial Day), so it was great snorkeling for my friends who were beginners. I thought the coral was in decent shape for such a popular beach, but obvioulsy there are a million more advanced and undiscovered areas around the islands. Overall, I was really impressed with this National Park and think they're doing a great job of preserving this beautiful island! See my review for Trunk Beach.

3  Thank ChicagoAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2007

This stop was a great part of our trip, and I really enjoyed the underwater trail to follow. As a new snorkler, this was a definate bonus for someone who isn't that comfortable in the water, and there were plenty of other people around if you got into trouble! I would strongly suggest going to Ocean World over on St. Thomas before learning to snorkel....you will find out a lot about the things you might see. I think I would have watched more and been more patient if I would have gone there first!

Thank girlranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2016
Google Translation

Date of experience: May 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews