We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trail for young children” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Bay Trail

Francis Bay Trail
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This nature trail is a good place for birdwatching.
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great trail for young children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were looking for a short trail for our 5 year old. This one was perfect. It is .4 miles long. You park by an old building just before the parking to francis bay beach. Shortly after entering the trail you come upon some ruins of an old house. Then you walk downhill toward the beach. At the bottom of the section of the trail is a clearing to the beach. Here we could see a sea turtle coming up for air. Then we continued to the left as the trail becomes a boardwalk. On the downward section of the trail we spotted 2 deer in different areas. The boardwalk is really nice. You can hear the sounds of the trees rubbing up against each other. We spotted a lizard and many birds in the various overlooks of the water. The trail ends at the entrance to the beach. There is a pit toilet there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank amy2773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bugs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was the only place we encountered large numbers of biting bugs on the beach. So while we didn't use the trail be prepared with bug spray when you reach the bay.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarum2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PETOSKEY
Level Contributor
188 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“The end of the trail is a wonderful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

A very easy hike to a wonderful place to snorkel and relax. Sea Turtles love to congregate here. Barracudas and Stingrays are also here to view while snorkeling.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lbingamanPetoskey_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bumpass, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great mangrove boardwalk for birding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Incredible site for birding. The boardwalk through the mangroves gets you out to where you can see tons of birds. Bring a spotting scope if you have it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank BJSchmonsees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Take the ranger tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Schedule would not allow for the ranger tour which offers just a trip down and a boat ride back. The uphill is a bit of a drag so make sure you have enough water. Petroglyphs are well worth it as are the ruins from some of the sugar plantations along the way.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SportingClays3200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francis Bay Trail also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Francis Bay Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing