We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful quiet beach in Coral Bay area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salt Pond Bay

Salt Pond Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$249.99*
and up
St John Round-Island Snorkeling Tour from St Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This scenic bay on St. John offers a secluded beach with good swimming and snorkeling, plus a graded hiking trail leading to and from the beach and picnic area.
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful quiet beach in Coral Bay area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We decided to rent a car so we could see more of St. John and some of the beaches on the other side of the island. We couldn't find anything easily accessible in the Coral Bay area so we back tracked and headed for the Salt Pond area. We were just about to turn around when we saw the sign for Salt Pond. Parking is limited and the hike to the beach is steep on the way down and tiring on the way back. Great snorkeling and you can hike to Drunk Bay along a trail at the far end of the beach (we didn't). There is a porta potty and some picnic tables. Saw some donkeys just hanging out on the beach.

The ride is treacherous if you're not used to it. There is taxi service to this side of the island from Cruz Bay. Just make sure you make arrangements for someone to come back and get you.....

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    136
    39
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
303 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Lovely beach with nice snorkeling and walking trails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is a great place to snorkel if the north side of the island is a bit too windy to see well underwater. Both sides of the beach (near the rocks) have a fine assortment of fish and corals, even a bright pink squid or two. The beach itself is very pleasant and there is a nice walking trail leading from it too. What more could you want!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Snarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best on St. John”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

If you are on the Coral Bay side you should definitely take a beach day here. There is a moderate 5 minute walk to the beach on a dirt trail, but it's a beautiful beach with calm waters and from here you can access Drunk Bay and Ram's Head trails which are well worth the effort if you are there. This was one of our favorite beaches.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maestro232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best snorkeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Beautiful beach and great snorkeling. Snorkeled out past the point at the far end of the beach and saw hundreds of different kinds of fish, plentiful coral, and a ray. Others in our group saw an octopus! Definitely a new favorite spot.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ksam071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Nothing special. I heard that this was someplace that I needed to see before I left so I did the "long" drive there. It's nice, nothing special.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Pond Bay also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Salt Pond Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing