We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and a nice beach”
Review of Salt Pond Bay

Salt Pond Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This scenic bay on St. John offers a secluded beach with good swimming and snorkeling, plus a graded hiking trail leading to and from the beach and picnic area.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great view and a nice beach”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Salt Pond Bay may not have all the amenities of those on the north side of the island, but that's part of why we like it so much. It's much more peaceful than Cinnamon Bay or Trunk Bay, and the view is still fantastic. Its a little bit of a hike back up the hill after your long day on the water, but well worth it. Just try to get off the beach before sunset or have your bug spray with you!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    146
    44
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterbury, Vermont
Level Contributor
251 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Not as great as I remember”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Last time in STJ, Salt Pond was one of my favorite snorkels. This December, although the coral growth was encouraging, I just didn't spot as much as I did on other beaches. I did "circumnavagate" the bay...swimming out to the rocks in the middle and then around the reefs on both sides. It took about 2 hours and the deep water crossing was exhilirating. Wouldn't recommend doing it solo as I did.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank pjfarr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
342 reviews
251 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“Nice public beach with some tables and shade.”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Water is warm and protected for swimming. Snorkeling rocky coast at both sides of the beach is pleasant. Past history of petty thefts is apparently no longer a problem. On your waty back to your lodging, stiop by Love City (shabby but relatively cheap) mini-market for food and snacks and liquor.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank efsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good snorkeling spot!”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

You have a hike a bit to get to the beach! Not too many parking spaces so get there early enough - the water was nice and calm. So definitely a good spot for non swimmers and little children. We had few people in our group who went snorkeling and got to see turtles, many colorful fish! Watch out for lionfish though, I heard there were plenty in the water! You can hike from this beach to drunk beach and will get to see rock curvings, stone figures created by other hikers, locals etc. If you're taking this hike make sure you have few people with you, not recommended in the dark or doing it alone. Overall, it was a good experience for me!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 46715OWTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Turtles? yes please”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Every time I have seen turtles, maybe 10 for 10. Also a very relaxing beach with a great hiking trail. Rams Head trail it awesome out to the southern most tip of St John.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MCGtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Pond Bay also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Salt Pond Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing