We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beatiful and Turtles!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawksnest Beach

Hawksnest Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$88.99*
and up
Caneel Bay Kayak, Hike, and Snorkel with Sea Turtles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This narrow, sea-grape-tree-lined stretch of sand is a popular beach on St John, especially for island residents, which offers gazebos for parties, barbecues or family get-togethers.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Beatiful and Turtles!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

This beach was an amazing surprise bonus for us on our trip to Caneel Bay Resort. We did not expect the number of fish, beautiful old coral, and the number of sea turtles we encountered! It was so beautiful and memorable for us! We will never forget this beach!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    115
    34
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
320 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Perfect sand, great water!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We really enjoyed Hawksnest Beach.

Though primitive, compared to Trunk or Cinnamon Bay, there are pit toilets, picnic tables and LOTS of shade.

The sand is amazing. Perhaps the softest sand I have ever found. Further, even with many locals and families, it is not as crowded as Trunk Bay and just as refreshing, relaxing, though more remote and beautiful.

The water is pristine and good snorkeling is available right off the shore. No strong currents and no strong waves, so it makes it easy for even the little ones to enjoy. Plenty of parking, most of it in the shade is a bonus.

Though its not a wide sandy beach, it is quite comfortable since the shade is available right there by the water. It is not so narrow, though, that you are sitting and sunning in the water.

My vote for the one of the most beautiful places in the Caribbean.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank okmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very good snorkeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We loved Hawksnest, good snorkeling and not busy. The entry into water was beautiful and sandy, great for kids.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bostontravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good snorkeling, lots of families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

The water was really rough the day we went because of strong winds. Even so, that made it even more fun but the rise and fall of the waves. The reef was great and we even saw a baby sea turtle. I loved the picnic tables in the shade of the trees.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paxton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

This was one of our favorite beaches on St. John. Beautiful bay with shallow reefs for snorkeling, sandy bottom for swimming and shady trees for getting out of the sun! Parking is close to beach!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jmrpax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawksnest Beach also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Hawksnest Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing