We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach!!”
Review of Hawksnest Beach

Hawksnest Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.00*
and up
Caneel Bay Kayak, Hike, and Snorkel with Sea Turtles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This narrow, sea-grape-tree-lined stretch of sand is a popular beach on St John, especially for island residents, which offers gazebos for parties, barbecues or family get-togethers.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

One of my favorites of all the beaches!! Nice picnic area bring munchies and lots of sunscreen. I heard a few others mention bug spray but they did not bother me!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Housold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    120
    35
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best snorkelling in St Johns”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went to almost every single beach on St Johns and always with our snorkel gear. The best spots are literally right off the beach and you will see a world of wonder. Just be careful as some of the coral are in shallow water and you could find yourself - or your kids - with some contact and that is usually bad for both human and coral. The parking lot is not huge so you may want to get there early.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KMNDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
145 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach, Disgusting Bathroom”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Hawksnest Beach is absolutely beautiful, with great snorkeling.

After a morning of snorkeling, we went to the bathroom. It was so smelly and truly disgusting that it ruined our impression of the day and would cause us not to go back. Trunk and Caneel Bays are just as beautiful without the "aroma."

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Skater741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love this beach!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

It's our go to beach! Very convenient, plenty of parking. Anywhere you travel find what the locals are doing and follow them, this you can tell is the locals beach for good reason! Will be back many more times

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mhodge10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We loved this beach!!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This beach has some good snorkeling areas directly in front and to the right around the rocks- saw some pretty large needle fish, pretty corals, and lots of tangs and snapper. Had it all to ourselves first thing in the morning. Very pleasant place just to jump in and swim as well. No showers, but it does have restrooms. Great for kids!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lindatravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawksnest Beach also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Caneel Bay, St. John
 

Been to Hawksnest Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing