We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Concordia Eco-Resort
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Eco Paradise”
Reviewed August 22, 2007

These Eco-Tents are the perfect way to go for low-budget/ high result places to stay. Located right on the south-east corner of St. John the Concordia Eco-Tents are right on Ram's Head giving the impression that you are at the end of the world. Floor to ceiling sreened windows offer the best front row seats to the most beautiful sunsets/sunrises.
[--]

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank sarah_eckfeldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    126
    36
    15
    11
See reviews for
125
221
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2007

My husband and I decided to go to St John's to relax during our 1-yr wedding anniversary. We're amatuer globetrotters, and wanted a place with plenty of sun & beach that was more secluded and low-key (hence, St John's vs. St Thomas).

What attracted us to Concordia was the seclusion, and the eco-friendly aspect. We've "roughed it" on other vacations, but never at a designated eco-friendly place.

Our room was decent, and the views were absolutely breathtaking. The beaches near the resort were secluded and unspoiled.

The reason for the 2 rating? Yes, like other reviews, we did have a cockroach, but could deal with that. However, what we couldn't handle was being put in a studio unit underneath a massive unit built to accomodate families. Every morning, we were awaken by the screeching of chairs/tables/general furniture being dragged across the floor, breakfast dishes clanking, people talking. Since there is no A/C, the windows are always open, and sounds travel very well. Every evening we were treated to whining kids not wanting to go to sleep. We asked to be moved to another studio unit that is not located under one designed to house huge families (who designs a unit like that?), but they were booked. They did knock off some money from our final bill.

Overall, if the eco-friendly thing is more of a nice-to-have, I would splurge and stay at the Westin, or a comporable hotel on St John's. This was not the romantic, quiet get-away that we were hoping for.

Cassie

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CassieChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2007

June 19-30, 2007
Stayed first in Concordia Studios -- wonderful breeze in A-1. Next 6 days in Ecotent P-10, what a great experience!! Our family of 6, children 15, 13, 11, 9 with plenty of room. Cool breezes and hot showers. Great food at Concordia Cafe, including grill your own (chef assists) on Mon and Tues. Also good prices for necessities at the Concordia store. Great snorkeling-- Salt Pond, Hawksnest, Maho, Waterlemon Cay, Caneel, Solomon. Fishing at Francis and Drunk Bays. Miss Lucy's (toasted goat cheese salad), Vie's Snack Shack on the East End for lunch, Hercules Pate in Cruz Bay, uncle Joe's BBQ across from Cap's Bar in Cruz Bay, Donkey Diner for breakfast and pizza Wed and fri nights -- internet to confirm our return flight. Discount Car Rental, right near St Thomas Airport was wonderful!!

Helpful?
6 Thank msoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2007

We stayed at Concordia eco-tents from May 7th -14th 2007 and had a wonderful first time experience. It was off season so tents or "canvas condos" as we like to called them were only 95 per night. You will quickly learn to love the casual island style. Pack light (really) because you really only need some light tshirts and shorts and flip flops, tevas too for hikes. The night is great sa you can fall asleep to the sound of the critters that come alive as the sun sets. Its loud but kind of nice.
A couple of tips, stay int he tents that are more towards the ocean "breezy side" for this you will have to call concordia directly (these tents cost 20 more a night). We stayed in tent e2 and it was great but we could have used a breeze. Pack buy spray or just buy it there though you will need it as there are many mosquitos but of course there will be since you are really in what looks like the jungle , its so worth it though as we had many beaches all to ourselves. Def check out skinny legs, shipwreck landing, miss lucys (our fav), sweet plantains, salt pond beach, reef trail, rams head trail, frances beach (saw sea turtles there), little lamphear, trunk bay, jumbee....

  • Liked — amazing views, secluded secret spots, great price, adventure
  • Disliked — some tents didnt have a breeze
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2007

All I have to say is that we had ROACHES running across our pillows the first night we were there, we immediately packed up and got out.
They refused to help us find another hotel, gave us some numbers, had to drive 45 minutes across the island to find another room. A WONDERFUL woman at the Westin found us one, even though they had none, but it was 500 per night, but at 2am when you have been up since 6am it had to do. It took Estate Concordia 4 days to respond to me, and a week to refund our deposit and of course, no offer to help offset charges from our $140 per night to the $500 per night, not really a big deal, but some thing other than "sorry we are refunding your deposit" would have been nice.
I also wrote a review to their website, which the webmaster did not post, so since we had read in the guest book in the room that someone 3 years ago had a rat in the kitchen, I can only imagine how many other roaches and rats have gone through that room.

We have no problem with Eco-Friendly and geckos and hermit crabs, but roaches are unsanitary and they breed thousands.

Very disappointing having to see roaches crawling across my pillows where I was about to lay my head.

I reccomend anywhere else but here.

  • Liked — Beautiful Scenery
  • Disliked — ROACHES in my bed
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Sasulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2007

The Estate Concordia is a group of eco-tents built on a hillside on the south side of St. John Island. It is like staying in a cabin with a picturesque unobstructed view of Rams Head and Salt Pond Bay below. Each cabin is secluded and has tent sides that have zippered flaps to open so that air constantly circulates. A rental car is a necessity there since either you stock in your own provisions which you purchased before you arrived, or you drive a few miles (not walking distance) into Coral Bay to eat out. The eco-tents did accommodate 6 to sleep, but with very little space to put luggage or even to hang clothes. It worked for two but with more adults it would get tight. In order to access any of the Concordia you must navigate many stairs. The swimming pool was one of the best features down about 50 stairs from the street level. The composting toilet was fine, since there was no odor, but the solar powered shower was difficult. My friend and I never figured how to get cool water to mix with the warm which became hot very fast. The toilet and shower were both outside of the cabin itself. I think the problem there is that no one escorted us to our eco-tent to explain and show us certain operational features. There were signs and a binder with instructions but details were lacking. There was a powered refrigerator and a propane stove, but no hot water for dishes in the cabins. Their web site said they had a cafe and a general store on the grounds. However, they are still building these and it sound like many months ahead before opening. So at $155.00 per day it seemed a bit overpriced. Yet, I will add that St. John Island is expensive, so for a family it may be a bargain.

  • Liked — Knock out view
  • Disliked — Shower
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2007

HI - we stayed here in Feb (me+wife+2 kids- 3yr + 5yr) the location was great - lovely view and really beautiful setting you couldn't walk to the beach (no surprise) the staff were ok - slow check-in, not that helpful when we had a problem with the shower (took a few hours to get help) The floor of the room smelt a bit BUT all that said its pretty economical and we had a really nice time - would recommend it to anyone who wants to get away economically and doesn't
mind camping

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank aatkmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Islands National Park
6.1 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
398 reviews
5.9 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
473 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
845 reviews
5.8 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
713 reviews
6.1 mi away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Concordia Eco-Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Concordia Eco-Resort

Property: Concordia Eco-Resort
Address: 16371 Concordia, Virgin Islands National Park 00830-9586, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Virgin Islands National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Virgin Islands National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Concordia Eco-Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Concordia Eco-Resort offers a variety of accommodations to satisfy our die-hard Eco-Tent fans, as well as those vacationers looking for a few more creature comforts, unplugged and surrounded by the beautiful VI National Park. (Check out our new Eco-Studios.) Our 25 Eco-Tents and Premium Eco-Tents are independent units perch like tree houses along the hillside. A 15 minute nature hike to Salt Pond Bay provides some of the best snorkeling on St. John. Cafe Concordia serves Breakfast, Dinner, Happy Hour, and Sunday Brunch in High Season, call for seasonal hours, but feel free to take full advantage of the kitchenette and refrigeration provided in your unit for cooking year round. Hope to see you soon in beautiful St. John. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Concordia Eco-Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concordia Eco-Tents Hotel Virgin Islands National Park
Concordia Eco-Resort St. John/Virgin Islands National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing