We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Concordia Eco-Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Simple and Perfect”
Reviewed January 29, 2009

We had planned on staying at Maho but I had unexpected knee surgery just prior to our vacation so we could not do the steps at Maho. We had one of the wheel chair ramp units (E-3) and it was perfect. I loved the simplicity of the furniture, floor plan, and bathroom. Our shower was very hot during the day and our toilet worked great. I was envious of the units closer to the ocean due to the breeze and views, but was very grateful for the clean little cottage that we had. The no-see ums were very hungry and we were really bit up- the only bad point. We had a few lizards and one mouse that was eager to leave as soon as we opened up the door. Our beds were comfy and the stars were like diamonds in the sky.

The staff were very nice and we loved the restaurant.

  • Liked — the upscale camping cottage
  • Disliked — no-see-ums were biting us- they come in through the screens.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tisambas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    126
    36
    15
    11
See reviews for
123
221
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2009

This facility is the newer "sister" of Maho Bay Camps and Harmony Studios. Concordia is located at the SE end of the island, about a 10-15 minute drive from Coral Bay. The micro-climate on this end of the island seemed "drier" and perhaps a bit windier--making it seem a little less humid than its northern side. There much fewer tall trees here an more cacti. Thus, the structures (and you) are more exposed to the sun--so it might feel a little hotter. There are turpentine trees (also known as gumbo limbo trees) all over--they have striking reddish brown trunks and emit a rather pleasant smell--despite the name. Most of the buildings in the complex are tent-type structures. However, we stayed in a "studio" made of wood an concrete. The place had nice touches--big brown colored floor tiles and nice textile wall hangings. The front deck was huge! And the view--fantastic. (If you stay in one of the eco-tents closer to the center ridge of the hill you get to look at the sea on both sides--the sunrise and rainshowers are fantastic from this vantage point.) Everything was clean and functioned well. There is a small fridge for your use. The unit we were in had a small gas kitchenette with 2 burners--we did use it and actually wondered who would--considering that the burners were right below a wood shelf holding a microwave--I imagine that if you left the gas burning long enough it just might ignite the shelf!!!
They have opened a new restaurant (dinner only) and the menu was creative and delightful--again, a super view. Perfect ambiance.
No breakfast--but you can get coffee, packaged danish, decent bagels, cereals, juices and fruits--at the store which is stocked with various basic items.
Service and staff was friendly and courteous. They have a pool (with a great view!!!) which is just right for a refreshing dip. I don't believe it was fresh water, though--had a salty taste to it. You overlook Salt Pond Bay with great snorkeling (swam right next to a turtle) and an uncrowded circular beach--but you might want to drive there--you can walk (I suspect a good 20 minutes)--but probably could get real hot in the summer.
A couple of local food spots and watering holes in Coral Bay provide just the right relaxing atmosphere.
The steps here are not nearly as long as in Maho/Harmony, but they are still there. But even a 55 year old out of shape guy like me handled them without difficulty. Was there with two daughters aged 16 and 21. They had a great time.
Super views, especially of the dark night sky showing stars that looked like a painting. Peaceful. Uncrowded. Wonderful.

  • Liked — unsurpassed views at a very reasonable price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tato1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2009

It's a beautifully situated property and there is much to like here. Generally the staff is great. But really for what you're paying, it's a little outrageous. I felt really squeezed. Even by St. John standards, prices in the store are obscene. They charge $25 extra per person over 2 people in a large, expensive studio -- even infants and small children! This is inexcusable. Yet they expect you to strip your own beds, are stingy with towels, ask that you sort your own garbage.... Rooms were not in clean condition. Look, I'm fine with all of that. But not at these prices. Basically I feel like you pay a huge amount to be treated like you're at summer camp. There's a little bit of a the "proprieter is always right," moralizing attitude in some of the managers. Again I would like this place and find it totally reasonable if there was less of a mercurial attitude. But I very much feel they are looking to squeeze nickels and dimes out of you while giving very little in return.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Attitude and prices.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank WandererNYNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2009

We stayed at Concordia over Christmas this year. On our first morning there we went out to the rental car to discover a big dent in the rear bumper of our rental car. No note, just tire tracks. After reporting it to the management and telling employees about it, it turns out that it is a frequent occurence. I never bother with the damage waiver, but highly recommend buying it for driving on St. John. When you look at the employees cars, they are parked in bushes, just to avoid the tourist and service trucks, so its an issue.

We stayed at Concordia a Sunday and Monday night when the restaurant on the property was closed. The property was sold out, but seemed like a ghost town. Also the restaurant is only open for dinner, so for breakfast you'll end up cooking in your cabin or driving into Coral bay.

At their sister resort, Maho Bay, I really like having the breakfast special in the pavillion, so I missed it at Concordia. They do have a 'continental breakfast at the store, but bagels and cereal is not my prefered breakie.

It's really quiet with great views but a 20 minute walk to the beach through the woods. I love walking on the beach at night, and its not an easy trail, so you'll end up driving to the beach.

  • Liked — nice views
  • Disliked — poor parking - high odds of getting run into
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank yippyEyeO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitsfield, Vermont
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2008

We stayed in an Eco-tent (E-6) at Concordia for the first five nights of our nine nights on St. John (I also posted a review of Harmony Studios at Maho). I think my expectations had been set correctly because I just loved our little tent cabin. We made use of the camp stove every morning for breakfast, and kept enough food in our refrigerator so that we could prepare our lunches for days spent out hiking, and even prepared some simple meals for dinner. Oh, we also always had rum in the fridge! Unfortunately, we didn't ever dine at the Pavilion as we were on a bit of a budget.
Concordia was situated well to hike some of the south coast trails, and discover the quieter beaches. There aren't a lot of activities that take place out of Concordia, so you should be prepared to plan your own days out. A rental car is really a must on this part of the island. I would return here again!

  • Liked — Feeling close to nature on a beautiful tropical island.
  • Disliked — The smelly composting toilet.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank GottaDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2008

I'm hesitant to contribute, here, because I'm reluctant to share a good thing. We've stayed in Estate Concordia's eco-tents five times over six years and we love the place! What we like about it most is that we get to visit StJ and tread lightly on the land in a sustainable technology manner: solar electric and hot water, composting toilet, minimal-disruption-to-the-land construction practices. HOWEVER, if you tend to freak out when you discover a soldier crab, gecko, mouse, cat or even a mongoose in your living space then I'm afraid you'll have to shell out the ridiculously-big $$ and rent one of those over-the-top villas with AC, pool, plasma TV and king-size beds! Hmmmm, maybe you'll want to reconsider and just stay home, after all.

I'm not going to tell you which tent we always hope to get, you'll just have to figure it out for yourself but I will tell you that we can comfortably sit out on the back "porch", naked and out-of-view of our neighbors, hydrating ourselves with homemade Painkillers after a day of hiking and beaching.

The staff at Concordia are largely local West Indian folks and very friendly. As long as the eco-tents at Concordia are available, we'll return to StJ again and again.

  • Liked — Remote location
  • Disliked — All those freakin' stairs!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BabaAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2008

After reading some of the not-so-great reviews below, I feel compelled to describe our experiences, since we have stayed at Concordia a number of times (approx. 8 if my memory is correct).

Concordia is a beautiful and very special property, but it must be said that it gets its luxury feel from its closeness to nature. The units are furnished with everything you need and nothing you don't. The design is done so as to take utmost advantage of the views and flora around the property. If you are into a secluded, quiet stay, in a place where there is no phone, TV, or internet, where you cook and sit and marvel at the stars from your terrace, this place is for you.

The flaws people mention here are not to be dismissed. While the units are reasonably clean, there is a possibility of insects (mosquitos and ants, mainly) being present. This is mainly due to the fact that Concordia's units are structured in a very inside-outside sort of way...there is no barrier between the room and the terrace other than some doors with wind slats. That is part of the magic of the place...the feeling that you are living in a luxurious tree house, not a sterile hotel room. (I have never seen a roach at Concordia, by the way.)

The kitchen is stocked with clean dishes and cookware, but they're not new and can be a bit scratched or rusty. You will receive clean towels, but they may look slightly worn. All of this is part of an experience meant to enlighten you about what is truly important and what is expendable. We have never felt unnerved by anything we found or didn't find at Concordia, we actually enjoyed the simplicity.

Regarding the noise: Concordia has expanded tremendously over the last few years and that means, unfortunately, more people. My suggestion is to go when the season is low and definitely NOT go during holiday weeks. Unit A3 for example (a full ocean view studio) is great, but the noise from the pool right under it can be annoying when families with kids are present. There are signs..."No jumping" and "No swimming after 9pm"...problem is, the staff doesn't always enforce the rules. The full ocean view studios generally offer more separation from other people, since they sit on top of the partial view studios and you won't have people above you.

Management recently informed me - when I booked our next trip there - that they may take requests for specific units soon. That was always our only complaint: the units are first come, first serve. Currently, you can only rent a type of unit, not an exact unit. Both lofts are great, but the full ocean views are not all alike. A3 and A8 are superior and have great kitchens, A7 has a small kitchen with a tiny fridge that we found very disappointing. Admittedly, it has a nice terrace.They should just renovate that kitchen already..

All that said, Concordia is one of the most special places we know. It's for those of you who want to sit on your terrace in awe of the views across the Caribbean Sea, find joy in the little critters that come by and say hello (cats, mongoose, crabs, birds of all sorts), boil a big pot of shrimp, empty a bottle of wine along with it and feel like your usual life is millions of light years away.

  • Liked — The views and seclusion.
  • Disliked — Not being able to book specific units.
  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank NYorkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Islands National Park
6.1 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
6.3 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
5.8 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Concordia Eco-Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Concordia Eco-Resort

Property: Concordia Eco-Resort
Address: 16371 Concordia, Virgin Islands National Park 00830-9586, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Virgin Islands National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Virgin Islands National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Concordia Eco-Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Concordia Eco-Resort offers a variety of accommodations to satisfy our die-hard Eco-Tent fans, as well as those vacationers looking for a few more creature comforts, unplugged and surrounded by the beautiful VI National Park. (Check out our new Eco-Studios.) Our 25 Eco-Tents and Premium Eco-Tents are independent units perch like tree houses along the hillside. A 15 minute nature hike to Salt Pond Bay provides some of the best snorkeling on St. John. Cafe Concordia serves Breakfast, Dinner, Happy Hour, and Sunday Brunch in High Season, call for seasonal hours, but feel free to take full advantage of the kitchenette and refrigeration provided in your unit for cooking year round. Hope to see you soon in beautiful St. John. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, getaroom.com and Booking.com so you can book your Concordia Eco-Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concordia Eco-Tents Hotel Virgin Islands National Park
Concordia Eco-Resort St. John/Virgin Islands National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing