We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Concordia Eco-Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Concordia was wonderful. The staff, the eco tents, the cafe = all phenomenal! We stayed in E8, which had gorgeous views and not a ton of stairs. I read some of the lower reviews before we went, and Im not sure what those people were expecting for an ECO friendly resort, but the occasional bug and bathroom situation did not bother us one bit. You definitely appreciate the beauty of nature while youre there! Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank itsbrittanym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 471 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

We come to St John every year, and normally opt for the Cruz Bay. Once again, we spent 9 lovely days at Garden by the Sea in Cruz Bay (highly recommend!). Then we went to the slower side of the island, and spent 4 nights at Concordia. What a pleasant surprise! We booked a queen efficiency, and it was lovely. Tile throughout, lovely platform queen bed, a nice day bed, functional kitchen, GREAT bathroom, and a wrap around deck with views of Salt Pond. So quiet and breezy. We've already booked for next year.

Plenty of storage (Ikea type storage cubbys). Clotheslines to hang bathing suits. A small fridge and a two-burner propane range top. A microwave, and enough dishes for the two of us. An enormous shower. Only weird thing about the bathroom--the mirror was hung over the toilet, not the sink. My husband sure had fun shaving!

Our room was right about the pool, which allowed us to use the WiFi from our porch. I thought noise might be a problem, but it was dead quiet at night-time. All in all, the only negative I can say about the place is the restaurant--the food was so-so, and the service was laughably dreadful. With all of the great places to eat on the east side of the island (Miss Lucys, Shipwreck Landing, Aqua Bistro, Skinny Legs, Tourist Trap), do yourself a big favor and skip the Concordia Restaurant and eat at one of those great places.

Room Tip: booked an efficiency queen, were upgraded to a garden queen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobbie_and_John_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Concordia is not a resort, its an experience. Once you check in, you are completely engulfed in nature. We stayed in Tent P14 and it was absolutely fantastic. The tents are simple, sustainable, private, economical, and really fun. Perched on the side of a mountain, overlooking both the ocean and the sea, Concordia allows quests to reconnect with the earth in a very special way. It's located on the "quieter" side of St. John so renting a Jeep is a must for those who want to explore the whole island. With that said, there are days and days of activities that are in walking distance from your tent. Warning: If you do not live an active lifestyle and do not enjoy things like hiking, swimming, snorkeling, wildlife, or stairs and prefer to sit by the pool or on the beach and stare at your phone while drinking cheap rum drinks in a plastic cup, Concordia is not for you. Go to St. Thomas, you'll have much more fun.
I've been to Hawaii. I've been to the south of France. Nothing compares to the pristine, intimate setting provided by the beaches of St. John. Several times, we hiked to beaches and were the ONLY people there. Rent some snorkel gear from the desk for the duration of your stay. You wont be disappointed.
I already miss St. John. The donkeys, pigs, chickens, and cows we encountered on the roads. The trade winds blowing through our tent with the sound of the ocean constantly in the background. It was the perfect place to unplug and reconnect with whats truly important. I will definitely be returning to Concordia. Once a year, for the rest of my life. In the meantime, I'm going to build an Eco Tent in my backyard.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Premium Tent. They are closer to the ocean and get better wind. If you are light sleepe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tommy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Second trip to Concordia and it just keeps getting better and better. The location, a short hike to one of the great south side beaches s is superb. The Concordia Cafe is excellent and entertaining, and the staff is just the right blend of helpful, attentive and relaxed. We discovered more activities this trip, including a wonderful East-End kayak/snorkel trip with the Hidden Reef Eco-Tours group. We have never seen such a vibrant coral garden. We also discovered how easy, inexpensive and convenient the Vitran buses are. Just be aware that you cannot carry luggage on them. Go if you love views, beach (yes, good snorkeling there too), hiking and a relaxed atmosphere. Avoid the local taxi as much as you can. Unreliable would be a kind evaluation of his service unless you luck out and get his wife. Rent a Jeep or use the Vitran for getting back and forth to Coral Bay.

Room Tip: We stayed in an Eco-Studio which we really liked. Upper level if you can get it for views and vaulte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed in an Eco Studio with my adult daughter for 5 delightful days. Concordia Eco Resort is a special place far away from the crowds. Anywhere in the resort there are gorgeous views because it is built on a hill side. We enjoyed the natural setting and the wild life (hermit crabs, pelicans and gecko/lizards) The staff is so friendly and super helpful. The food was excellent at the cafe so we splurged for dinner each night there but ate breakfast and lunches in our room because we had a kitchenette in our studio room and you can't beat the view from the deck. The calm waters of Saltpond Bay were a 15 minute hike perfect for swimming and snorkeling. I loved the variety of beaches and coast line. There was a rocky Maine Coast like beach with pounding surf at Drunk Bay. People have made wonderful sculptures of found material all over this beach. There are no phones, no TV (don't worry there is WIFI by the main office so you can check messages) Concordia Eco Resort is the place to come explore and relax. I am definitely bringing my husband with me next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gate83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at Concordia for a week mid April during the kids spring break and had a great time. Yes, it is more camping than a hotel, but it is also so much more than camping. We had a premium unit (P 18), which was big enough to accommodate the five of us (two adults, three teenagers), had a nice breeze, allowed us to cook several meals and was quiet. The people working at Concordia are very friendly and helpful, the café had good food fro diner and breakfast and is priced like al the other places in or near Coral Bay. We definitely plan on coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaxR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had a fantastic experience in tent E-8 at Concordia, but I notice that many of the things that people have complained about in other reviews are things that I loved. So it proves the old adage that one person’s heaven is another person’s hell … and just points to common sense: know yourself, know where you are going and understand why you are going there.

The tents at Concordia are comfortable camping, but they are camping all the same. The studios are more like a conventional beach hotel experience. We stayed in both (because of availability) and tent E-8 was our much preferred lodging – it was a magical experience – largely for all of the reasons that some other reviewers have complained about:

It was windy and loud – we loved it: E-8 is one of the highest tents and my impression is that it has the most privacy and the best views. It can get very windy and the wind can cause the tent walls to flap against the wood frame. So the wind can get loud. And the ocean is loud, and the frogs are loud. You’re in nature – go with it! Travel with ear plugs. We only had to use them one night when the frogs performed a full opera after a storm.

The resort is remote and there’s nothing to do at night – stay in Cruz Bay if that’s not what you had in mind. We didn’t rent a jeep and we took the bus or hiked to anything we wanted to do. We hiked to Great Lameshur Bay to snorkel and discovered the VEIRS environmental resource center along the way where we learned about NASA research conducted there in the 1970s. The wonderful director opened the museum for us and gave us a tour of the grounds. We would have missed it if we were driving. Yes, the hiking was long, hot and steep. But we had a sense of really having earned that rum Boom Boom at the “Tourist Trap” when we staggered up the hill at the end of the afternoon.

There’s no cell reception, no wi-fi in the tents, the solar-powered lights are dim – in other words, you are unplugged and living with the natural rhythms of nature. We got up every morning to watch the sun rise because we couldn’t resist the show. We read books in bed wearing head lamps but we went to sleep around 8 or 9 pm every night – I don’t really know because we didn’t have a clock. We had to turn on our phones to find out what time it was and most of the time that was too much trouble. It didn’t matter what time it was!

On of the saddest things I saw on this trip was a family that, every time I went down to the office, was sitting in the breezeway with their devices, picking up the wifi. Not just the teenagers but the parents too. Look, just stay home and save a lot of money if all you want to do is stare at your phones! I can’t imagine coming all that way only to ignore the fantastic panoramic paradise all around, just to keep looking at Facebook. The reason anyone should come to Concordia is to have a sensory experience in real time. I know it’s hard to snap out of the hyper-connected spell. But snorkeling every day was one of the best mental exercises I’ve experienced in years. I didn’t think about anything but snorkeling for hours at a time (tip: wear a sun shirt so your back doesn’t get burned!) It is so rare to do something and be totally present to that activity, without thinking about anything else, or trying to do five other things at once. You can’t check Twitter while you’re snorkeling. It’s a great feeling.

Shout out to Patty and Pam at the front desk, Lauren and Chris and Lisa in the café – terrific service, terrific people.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Mmmmmllllllll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Islands National Park
6.1 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
9.8 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
498 reviews
6.4 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
858 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Concordia Eco-Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Concordia Eco-Resort

Address: 16371 Concordia, Virgin Islands National Park 00830-9586, St. John
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Virgin Islands National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Virgin Islands National Park
Price Range: $110 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Concordia Eco-Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Concordia Eco Resort is currently closed because of the significant impact from Hurricane Irma. We will be closed for the remainder of 2017 and 2018. If you have made reservations, our reservations team will be contacting you once we get communications back on-line in the upcoming months to refund your deposits. Thank you for your understanding and support during this difficult time. Concordia Eco-Resort offers a variety of accommodations to satisfy our die-hard Eco-Tent fans, as well as those vacationers looking for a few more creature comforts, unplugged and surrounded by the beautiful VI National Park. (Check out our new Eco-Studios.) Our 25 Eco-Tents and Premium Eco-Tents are independent units perch like tree houses along the hillside. A 15 minute nature hike to Salt Pond Bay provides some of the best snorkeling on St. John. Cafe Concordia serves Breakfast, Dinner, Happy Hour, and Sunday Brunch in High Season, call for seasonal hours, but feel free to take full advantage of the kitchenette and refrigeration provided in your unit for cooking year round. Hope to see you soon in beautiful St. John. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Concordia Eco-Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concordia Eco-Tents Hotel Virgin Islands National Park
Concordia Eco-Resort St. John/Virgin Islands National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing