We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the drive”
Review of Leinster Bay

Leinster Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A rocky, windswept bay on the northern coast of St. John.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This part of the park is pretty far away but it is worth the drive. The reef around the cay is in good shape and it is not busy. Plenty of fish life and turtles to see here. Ma the effort and go here as not many others do.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank tek1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    40
    14
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The road to this bay is in very poor condition, and barely manageable with a Jeep. The snorkeling isn't very good either.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice snorkeling!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is a great spot to hike and snorkel. There are no facilities so bring your own drinks and snacks. Just be sure you drive yourself! Taxis are happy to drop you off, but they are NOT commonly there when you are done. The reef is very nice and the snorkeling is very good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GreatEscapesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice easy walk”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This walk is so beautiful and easy that you could walk it in flip flops. A gorgeous 0.8mi hike out to the bay. We hiked in with a backpack that carried our snorkel gear. The beach is rocky with a small area of sand. The reef was ok against the rocks. The water is very clear. We saw turtles and barracudas.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We visited Leinster Bay as part of a boat tour and got the opportunity to snorkel here for quite a while. The water was perfect and we saw countless colorful fish along with all sorts of sea life. The reef here was outstanding.

this is definitely a place to go back to in the future. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrCrimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leinster Bay also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Leinster Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing