We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice Break from the Beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Annaberg Sugar Plantation

Annaberg Sugar Plantation
Book In Advance
$139.00*
and up
Annaberg Plantation and Waterlemon Cay Hike and Snorkel Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The most accessible and best preserved of its type, this once-working sugar plantation (circa 1870) was the site of boiling molasses and hardworking slaves harvesting sugarcane, and which now offers visitors regular tours and living-history demonstrations.
Valley Stream, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice Break from the Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

After sampling the many beaches and doing a lot of snorkeling, this was a nice break for us. We stayed and Cruz Bay and so the drive out there and back gave us a chance to see a little bit more of the island. Very simple hike if you can even call it a hike. Watch out for bees, there were a lot in inside the ruins so don't go poking around. Some info boards posted around, but more information would have been even better. Views are spectacular. Only disappointment, despite the evidence of donkey's in the area, we were unable to see any.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lisamarie514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    129
    30
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“For history buffs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

A nice short self-guided tour on the site of a crumbling sugar plantation in the middle of the National Park. You learn something about life before the slaves revolted and won their own freedom, also has some gorgeous views. This year, I saw two mongooses. Worth a stop while you are at the park, and snorkeling in Waterlemon Cay down the path is rumored to be excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TPool_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeastern U.S.
Level Contributor
262 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Great Ruins, Needs a good Audio Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

While beaches and snorkeling are our primary focal points when we visit the islands, I always try to make a point of snorkeling nearby Waterlemon Cay and then visiting these ruins as part of the “island experience” when I bring friends to visit St. John. You need about half an hour or more to walk through the interpretive signage. There are steps leading up from the parking lot, but if you have someone who would prefer NOT to do the wooden walkway up the hill, there is a drop off at the entrance to the ruins. You may see donkeys while you are here (or step in donkey manure.) This location seems a perfect place for someone to develop a self-guided audio tour that people could enjoy via a smart device, but I have not found one. I will keep searching and repost if I find one.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WhirldWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth the drive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

View are absolutely amazing and worth the drive. Only a short distance from Maho Bay, Annaberg is home to some of the best views in the Caribbean. Looking out into the narrows and seeing Tortola and Jost Van Dyke is beautiful. The plantation itself was cool but the views are the best part. I will return again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CaribbeanCruiserBVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another sugar mill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

This sugar mill had some of the best ruins on the island, however not something to spend a large amount of time seeing. Be careful on the stairs up the mill, some of the boards are kind of loose.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kb5323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annaberg Sugar Plantation also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Annaberg Sugar Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing