We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little history lesson”

Annaberg Sugar Plantation
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.99*
and up
St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay
More Info
$63.50*
and up
St John Island and Trunk Bay Beach Tour
More Info
$78.98*
and up
St John Island Sightseeing Tour from St Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The most accessible and best preserved of its type, this once-working sugar plantation (circa 1870) was the site of boiling molasses and hardworking slaves harvesting sugarcane, and which now offers visitors regular tours and living-history demonstrations.
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A little history lesson”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Nice place to visit and get a little history of the island. Not a long or hard walk - a very nice view

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mccarthykris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    156
    34
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“More interesting than I expected”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Assuming one is going to walk to Waterlemon Cay, parking is at the Annenberg site. Take 15 min to walk around, read signs and visualize how the sugar plantation used to function. Educational for a minimum of effort!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank emrgncymd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one when you visit St John”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The old sugar mill ruins are interesting. Take the stairs from the parking lot and you may get to see a deer. The story boards along the way tell what each ruin is. The native trees are labeled for identification. The view of the water is beautiful and when the flamboyant tree is in bloom by the windmill, it makes a spectacular photograph.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozark, Missouri, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Lots of history & great view!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the ruins. They had local staff there to help answer questions about the ruins and the area. We even saw a small shark just off the shore from our vantage point. We loved that they had plaques telling about everything which were so informative. There is a walking trail below the ruins and we stayed on it for quite a ways which we totally enjoyed. We will go back!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank WiiLuvVacashuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa, United States
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good history”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Very sober place, the slave trade disgusts us but the plantation was very interesting. It is worth visiting and Waterlemon Cay is a short walk away.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Luke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annaberg Sugar Plantation also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Annaberg Sugar Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing