We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great snorkel but a challenging swim”
Review of Whistling Cay

Whistling Cay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A snorkeling spot in St. John with schools of fish and the occasional shark.
north carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great snorkel but a challenging swim”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

You can rent a kayak from Maho and paddle to this rocky beach in about 20 min. The guide at the Maho activity center can give you advice on where to land and to snorkel. We snorkeled the left side and it was really good (barracuda, eagle ray) but it took a lot to fight the current and swim back, especially without fins. The previous time we had fins and kept snorkeling around the whole cay, but that's tiring too as it's about a mile swim.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ajnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seven Corners, Virginia
Level Contributor
588 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Few reefs, a lot of sharp pebbles”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I rented a kayak at Little Maho beach and paddled across the bay to this cay to do some snorkeling. It takes about 20-25 minutes there and 1.5 times that long to get back. One thing to note is that there's no sand there and you better bring some sort of watersport shoes or crocs with you. Otherwise, it'll be VERY painful to walk around the little pebble beach there. It took me 10-15 minutes just to get my kayak in the water being barefoot. There's not much to do on this cay but to snorkel or sunbathe. There's a nice reef patch to the west of old house ruins and some on the very eastern end. Circumsnorkeling will probably take you an hour or so.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Seth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unbelieveable Snorkeling”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

One of the best spots in all of St. John. Well worth the effort to get too.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BillD001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Diving Location ...... right off Maho Bay Camps”
Reviewed November 13, 2010

This must be some of the best diving in the area if you are looking to see some bright coral, Lobster, Black spotted eel. Have not dove since there and seen as much as there is right off the island.....EARNEST is a great dive guide, he knows how to take care of the coral and where are the hiding places are. We did the boat dive there, but others were taking the kayaks out there. You can rent everything from the Dive shop

Helpful?
Thank ktee036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Whistling Cay kayak and snorkle - Underwhelming at best!”
Reviewed July 17, 2010

I kayaked to Whistling Cay from Maho Bay Camps. I would suggest renting a 4x4 vehicle as the road is extremely bumpy and riddled with pot holes, etc. (not to mention it's a dirt road).

The kayak trip took approximately 25 minutes each way. The current wasn't very strong, and I was paddling non-stop, so if you're a weak rower or want to take your time, it will take a bit longer.

I dragged my kayak onto the rocky beach on Whistling, in front of the old stone building. I sat down, enjoyed the view(s), ate a snack, guzzled some water and put on my snorkeling gear.

Upon being in the water for less than 5 minutes, I saw a gigantic barracuda. Sadly, I didn't see much else to brag about. The coral was interesting (elkhorn, sea fans, etc); however, the abundance of sea life was underwhelming at best. I had snorkeled at Sapphire Beach on St Thomas the previous day, and saw 1000 times more variety (a turtle, a ray, octopus, massive schools of fish, etc.) Hawksnest, Waterlemon and even Cinnamon and Trunk provider better snorkeling than Whistling.

Perhaps I was there at the wrong time of day, or the wrong time of year? I stuck to the west and southwest sides of the cay, as recommended on this forum.

Helpful?
2 Thank scribble2200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whistling Cay also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Whistling Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing