We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Trunk Bay”
Review of Trunk Bay

Trunk Bay
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$84.00*
and up
Half-Day Tour to Trunk Bay Beach from St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The good news: this world-class stretch of white sand and turquoise water is St. John's most photographed beach, which features a marked underwater trail for beginning snorkelers. The bad news: because of its popularity, it can get very crowded with cruise ship passengers and members of sightseeing tours.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
278 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Trunk Bay”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Trunk Bay is so beautiful. The water and sand are picturesque. There are nice bathroom facilities and even a concession stand. Lifeguard on duty too. Downfall, its the busiest beach on St. John.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank karalyn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,824
    446
    157
    33
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Too crowded and not the best snorkeling on the island”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

If you are wanting great snorkeling and not huge crowds, avoid this beach!!! You can find MUCH better snorkeling and privacy at Salomon Beach or Waterlemon Cay. Especially if there are several cruise ships in port in St. Thomas, Trunk Bay will be a disappointment.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
175 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“One of the best beaches in the world”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This beach of course is phenomenal. The sand, the water are what you picture in your mind when you think of the perfect beach. Because of its popularity there are always a lot of people there. I recommend going early in the morning. Several years ago we arrived around 7 in the morning and we were able to get some photos of empty beaches and had the snorkeling all to ourselves.

This trip we arrived around 11:30am on a Saturday and didn't have any trouble finding a spot of sand to put our chairs. This beach is also nice because of the shade it provides should you want it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Most Beautiful Beach”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We spent our last day here and while it gets a little crowded, it was still relaxing and beautiful. The best facilities..snack bar, chair and snorkel rental, beer, rest rooms and even showers. We did not snorkel and wish we would have.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankDiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
128 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very beautiful beach!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Beautiful beach in St. John. $4 to get in. A little crowded after 10 AM but amazing view and snorkeling.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank richrod212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trunk Bay also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Caneel Bay, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Trunk Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing