We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Park Beach that's easy to Reach”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trunk Bay

Trunk Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$77.50*
and up
Half-Day Tour to Trunk Bay Beach from St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The good news: this world-class stretch of white sand and turquoise water is St. John's most photographed beach, which features a marked underwater trail for beginning snorkelers. The bad news: because of its popularity, it can get very crowded with cruise ship passengers and members of sightseeing tours.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
255 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Park Beach that's easy to Reach”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Within the state park, this is the only beach on St John that requires paid admission. For that you get lifeguards, full shower, bathrooms and changing areas, chair and other beach equipment rentals and a food hut. The beach itself is very nice but be sure to get there early as parking is limited. You can always use the taxi's from Cruz Bay $6,00 each way pp. There is a snorkel trail that is marked under way, very nice. The one caveat; avoid Tuesdays when the place is overrun by cruise ship people from St Thomas. Other than that, this famous beach is not to be missed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NC-World-Traveler-Sr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,759
    433
    157
    31
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Haven”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Im still wishing we stayed longer at Trunk Bay! A couple of hours to snorkel, swim, sunbathe, or just chill wasn't enough. My family and i love this beach. So clean and well preserved by the locals. Lifeguards on duty are very nice and accommodating.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank May C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“awesome place couldn't have a better time anywhere else”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

well I don't have words to tell you how much I enjoyed trunk bay and everything related to it. My family and me snorkeled all day, played in the crystal turqouise waters and white sand, and with facilities within the same place. Even if you are at another nearby island it is worth to go see this underwater national park.
Try it you won't be ashamed, It has everything for everyone's need

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjliberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Get here early! Gorgeous scenery and interesting snorkeling!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Some very nice snorkeling- although personally I think Leinster Bay and Cinnamon Bay are much better. The scenery is gorgeous and there is a small shop (sunscreen, water, pop, snorkel gear rental) as well as restrooms and showers. Definitely worth coming to! As with all beach here- coming earlier in the morning will you lend you a more private beach and usually more fish!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lindatravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“One of the best beaches I have ever been to!!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Once I got to this beautiful beach I gotta say that the rough and long ferry ride from St Thomas was really worth it!!!!!. The water is so calm and crystal clear....the mountain on the back really add more beauty to this place. The snorkeling is pretty decent and great for beginners. My wife and I went for a walk to one end of the beach where we got really wonderful pictures. The saddest part was that we didn't have enough time to enjoy the beach; just 2 hrs!!! :-(. Next time I stop on St Thomas on a cruise...I think I am going to head straight to St John instead of hanging in St Thomas.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank robchateau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trunk Bay also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Caneel Bay, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Trunk Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing