We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Heaven of earth!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trunk Bay

Trunk Bay
Book In Advance
$75.00*
and up
Half-Day Tour to Trunk Bay Beach from St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The good news: this world-class stretch of white sand and turquoise water is St. John's most photographed beach, which features a marked underwater trail for beginning snorkelers. The bad news: because of its popularity, it can get very crowded with cruise ship passengers and members of sightseeing tours.
Lindenhurst, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven of earth!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I've travelled to quite a few islands in the caribbean and I would have to say hands down that Trunk Bay was my absolute favorite. I almost cried when I saw how beautiful it was ...it was if I had died and went to heaven. The beach is completely unspoiled with surrounding hills speckled with beautiful flowers, powdery sandy shoreline, crystal clear water...true paradise!!

I came back home but my heart is still there!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank beachygirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,662
    405
    155
    31
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Excellent beach with entrance fee(4$/pers), white sand, shower, bathroom, food, lifeguard, excellent for swimming,good for snorkeling, if you are a beginner swimmer and snorkel .... The self quided snorkeling path it could be ok if you did this kind a stuff before ..... It is a joke

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Doloka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing beach as always!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is such a beautiful beach. The best one we have been to yet. It is not cheap to get here from the cruise pier but that is all worth it once you arrive. They rent stuff to use on the beach but beware that they want a deposit so if you only bring cash bring enough to pay a hefty deposit to check out a chair or snorkel! One of the things I hate the most about the USVI is waiting to fill a taxi to go anywhere. It wasted about an hour of our time between there and back. I understand being kind to the enviorment and all but when you are each paying 6 bucks to go a short distance I want to go when i get me and a group of six people in the car. The cab the ferry was 10 each person per way and the ferry was 6 so in all it was over 40 bucks in cab and ferry just to get to the beach....

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“call ahead to verify details!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Trunk Bay was closed or had limited access much of this past week. Call ahead and see what is open before taking the expensive taxi ride from the Westin or Cruz Bay.
One day swimming and snorkeling were *both* closed. We had been told swimming was OK, but learned otherwise in the parking lot after spending 2 hours getting there. We were annoyed and confused about when this advisory had taken effect. Got some conflicting info, and spent time and money in vain. Grrrr.
Don't waste precious vacation time spinning your wheels like this. Verify all details and hours before trucking up the coast.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Eat_Swim_Read
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, quiet and secluded”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very well kept and clean beach, in fact all of St John is clean and well kept since it's almost all national park. $4 entry fee totally worth it. There are showers, lockers, snorkel rental, small gift shop, small snack shop, etc. A $6 safari jeep taxi ride from Cruz Bay. Totally feel worlds away but easily accessible! Underwater snorkel trail is a nice touch. It can get a bit cloudy is the waves kick up, but there is lots of sea life to look at. Wish I can come back soon!

Can't say enough about it, plus NO vendors bugging you to buy their stuff!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liams D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trunk Bay also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Caneel Bay, St. John
Magens Bay, St. Thomas
 

Been to Trunk Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing