We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED Serendip!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cruz Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Serendip Vacation Condos
stonecollector
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“LOVED Serendip!”
Reviewed December 17, 2010

Just got back from 2 weeks at Serendip. We stayed in Delta, and then Bravo - both were beautiful, clean and super relaxing. These are great apartments, and Ted and the owners have thought of everything to make your stay easier. We got in late, and the welcome package in the fridge was really welcome after a long day of traveling. The beach chairs and towels and coolers were great to take to the beach every day, and for families with kids there are beach toys too. The kitchen was well stocked as far as pots and pans, even a blender in each unit.

Ted is super nice, and will make arrangements for you if you need help. As with many others, he arranged our rental car before we came down.

The location is perfect - it's a 15 minute (straight downhill) walk to Cruz Bay if you want to be in town, but it's far enough out of town that you feel secluded. The balconies are HUGE, and would be great for a family to hang out. We loved watching the sunset on the balcony every night, and even though there are 10 apartments, we felt like we had real privacy for the whole stay.

We're already planning our next trip back!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stonecollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    32
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
87
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

What a great find! We loved our stay at Serendip. Ted, the onsite manager, was great. It was just enough off the beaten track that you had privacy, but close enough that we walked to Cruz Bay every morning. We will definetely rent a Jeep next time though cause the hills are extreme. The pics you see are exactly how it is. We stayed in Gecko. The owners were generous. The room was clean and comfortable. We did find some things that were broken or unuseable during our stay so we gave Ted a list. A grill is provided in the pool area but it is on its last legs. There were some cats that hung out just in case you wanted to drop some food for them, but they didnt beg and were friendly. The cost was VERY reasonable. Next time we come to St John we will bring the kids but we wouldnt dream of staying anywhere else! Thank you Ted for everything, See you in a couple years!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aadries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

The sounds of the tree frogs and night noises are amazing at the Serendip condos! I enjoyed sitting on my patio and watching the bats chase the bugs when the sun was going down. Our room was clean and well stocked with everything that you will need for your trip to the beach. Ted is fantastic, he is around when you need him to answer a question. Thanks Ted; for the rum and fruit tray upon our arrival, we enjoyed it tremendously. Cruz bay is close, we walked daily into town but the hill is way to steep to attempt after snorkeling all day or partaking "Pain Killers". We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klfkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Best place to stay on STJ. The Live-In manager (Ted) is truly amazing. Ted will do anything and everything at the drop of a hat. You can not find better customer service on the Island. Ted took manager a few years ago and has made Serendip property amazing. The units are individually owned, so all units differ with there own personal touches. This was our second stay at Serendip and have already reserved dates for our third trip for next year. We will not stay anywhere else again in the Islands. Very reasonable rates with 5 star service.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BchBum82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

My wife and I spent a week here, and it went without a hitch.

It was $120/night with off-peak discount. The 1 BR condo had A/C, king bed, kitchen with almost everything you'd need for cooking, amazing view of Cruz Bay, friendly live-in property manager, cheap laundry, close to markets, etc.

Oddly enough, in the guest book, the owners of the condo said "when our parents bought this condo 36 years ago...". This will give you an idea of the construction, etc. But, no worries, everything was fully functional, and remember you'll be at the beach and exploring the National Forest 90% of the time, so get over the dated accomdations. That's why this place is so affordable, its already paid for. :)

* you have to rent a jeep if you plan to really see St. John, do not think you can ride your bicycle, take taxis everywhere, etc. *

Its up a really steep hill, do not plan on walking into the center of town.
Buy food before coming here. The restaurants are very expensive and even food at the market is twice the price of home.

I 100% recommend this place to anyone planning on spending less than $125/night. Even better, there were two single beds in the living room, so you could really go cheap here if you divide by 4 people.

GO SNORKELING! Also, you'll see lots of wild donkeys if you take route 10 to the east side of island. drive carefully.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerrylogansquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We just returned from a short week, in the Gecko unit, at Serendip Vacation Condos, on St. John, USVI. This was a great place to stay with our teenagers. We wanted a place that had a great location and view, was economical, private and had a pool. (and had to have WiFi!) This property answered all of our needs. Ted, the property manager, had us set up before we arrived. He was kind and helpful. The location is very convenient to the shops and restaurants in Cruz Bay. We had a great trip...even with teenagers! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyFun04_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville,Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

My husband and I spent a week at the Serendip. We stayed in the "Coral" unit. The view from the verandah was awesome. We spent many hours with the view of Cruz Bay and St. Thomas. The unit was very clean and well managed by Ted. There is a gas grill which we used nearly every evening. There are two grocery stores nearby and easy to stop and pick up food as needed. St. John is a beautiful island with water that is so blue and clear. Snorkelling is great especially at Trunk Bay. Even though the Serendip is not the newest of accomodations on the island, it is still a very nice place and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.3 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
473 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
461 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.7 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
845 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coconut Coast Villas
Coconut Coast Villas
#1 of 17 in Cruz Bay
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendip Vacation Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendip Vacation Condos

Property: Serendip Vacation Condos
Address: 9-7 Serendip Rd | PO Box 273, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within a lush, tropical setting on two acres with ocean views to Cruz Bay, our one-bedroom and studio condos at Serendip Vacation Condos are being continually upgraded inside and out. We are an intimate complex of only 10 units in a quiet residential area of St. John. Each of the 8 one-bedroom and 2 studio condos have a fully-equipped kitchen, AC, cable, and large covered veranda with ocean views. The studio units have an maximum occupancy of 2 guests. Our one-bedroom units have a maximum occupancy of 4 guests, with NO additional 'per person' fees! The guest laundry facilities are a great added value for small families or the budget friendly traveler, and we also have beach towels, beach chairs & even a cooler for your memorable days on our beautiful USVI National Park beaches. One of our favorite features is the large covered veranda that extends the length of the entire condo and is a wonderful place for dining, reading a book or watching the sunset. The condo complex also has a lovely pool with a seating area, chaise lounges, and BBQ grill. Review our photos and let us know which unit you are interested in reserving when you submit an inquiry. This will allow us to provide an accurate rate and more details about the specific unit. Serendip is one of the best St John vacation values on the island. We look forward to having you as our guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Serendip Vacation Condos Hotel Cruz Bay
Serendip Vacation Condos St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing