We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely AWESOME!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cruz Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Serendip Vacation Condos
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely AWESOME!”
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Best place to stay on STJ. The Live-In manager (Ted) is truly amazing. Ted will do anything and everything at the drop of a hat. You can not find better customer service on the Island. Ted took manager a few years ago and has made Serendip property amazing. The units are individually owned, so all units differ with there own personal touches. This was our second stay at Serendip and have already reserved dates for our third trip for next year. We will not stay anywhere else again in the Islands. Very reasonable rates with 5 star service.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BchBum82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    32
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
87
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

My wife and I spent a week here, and it went without a hitch.

It was $120/night with off-peak discount. The 1 BR condo had A/C, king bed, kitchen with almost everything you'd need for cooking, amazing view of Cruz Bay, friendly live-in property manager, cheap laundry, close to markets, etc.

Oddly enough, in the guest book, the owners of the condo said "when our parents bought this condo 36 years ago...". This will give you an idea of the construction, etc. But, no worries, everything was fully functional, and remember you'll be at the beach and exploring the National Forest 90% of the time, so get over the dated accomdations. That's why this place is so affordable, its already paid for. :)

* you have to rent a jeep if you plan to really see St. John, do not think you can ride your bicycle, take taxis everywhere, etc. *

Its up a really steep hill, do not plan on walking into the center of town.
Buy food before coming here. The restaurants are very expensive and even food at the market is twice the price of home.

I 100% recommend this place to anyone planning on spending less than $125/night. Even better, there were two single beds in the living room, so you could really go cheap here if you divide by 4 people.

GO SNORKELING! Also, you'll see lots of wild donkeys if you take route 10 to the east side of island. drive carefully.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerrylogansquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We just returned from a short week, in the Gecko unit, at Serendip Vacation Condos, on St. John, USVI. This was a great place to stay with our teenagers. We wanted a place that had a great location and view, was economical, private and had a pool. (and had to have WiFi!) This property answered all of our needs. Ted, the property manager, had us set up before we arrived. He was kind and helpful. The location is very convenient to the shops and restaurants in Cruz Bay. We had a great trip...even with teenagers! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyFun04_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville,Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

My husband and I spent a week at the Serendip. We stayed in the "Coral" unit. The view from the verandah was awesome. We spent many hours with the view of Cruz Bay and St. Thomas. The unit was very clean and well managed by Ted. There is a gas grill which we used nearly every evening. There are two grocery stores nearby and easy to stop and pick up food as needed. St. John is a beautiful island with water that is so blue and clear. Snorkelling is great especially at Trunk Bay. Even though the Serendip is not the newest of accomodations on the island, it is still a very nice place and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2010

If your looking for a great place to stay in St. John this is it. Our condo at Serendip was well maintained and had everything we could need. If you are unsure give Ted a call. He was able to help us get everything squared away including Jeep rental.

It was a great place to spend a week.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redskyrealtygrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

My husband and I spent a week on St. John at Serendip Vacation Condos. Since it was just the two of us we stayed in the Juliette unit. We loved the beautiful property which has a wonderful tropical setting. The property is well maintained and is in a great location just far enough away from Cruz Bay to be relaxing, yet close enough that you can easily drive into town for dinner. We loved the view and the wonderful sounds of nature that the property offered. Also, the property manager, Ted Johnson, is a wonderful and dedicated person who truly loves the island. He went out of his way to make sure our vacation was great. He met us at the ferry the evening we came in and made sure we got settled in and had a welcoming kit prepared for us. Also, he arranged our rental car for us and made sure we got it upon our arrival. Throughout the week he checked in with us and gave us excellent suggestions for places to eat. We also enjoyed hearing his stories about "life on the island." The condo unit we stayed in was clean and had everything we needed to have a great week. (Beach towels/chairs, a cooler, plenty of dishes, a great AC unit, etc.) We really enjoyed relaxing at our condo in the mornings and in the evenings. This was truly our home away from home!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CRRBEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Let me start off by saying that I’m not a huge fan of hotels, and I’ve never been overly impressed with most of the condos that we have rented while on vacation. I’ve found most of my success with renting houses. We did our research, read message boards, and decided on taking our chances with the Serendip Condos. The prices were very reasonable, and reviews made it seem that many were recently renovated. When we arrived off the ferry at St. John, the property manager of Serendip (Ted) met us and picked us up and took us up to the condo. You’d think we were the owners of the place the way we were treated. He showed us around, told us all about the place, and left us to explore. The condo was a good size. Had a very nice kitchen and all the appliances seemed to be relatively new. It was completely stocked with dishes, cups, coffee maker..etc so everything you might need had you been home. The balcony was amazing and you looked straight down on Cruz Bay, the water, and St. Thomas. It had the largest balcony out of all the vacation spots I’ve stayed in. The bed in the bedroom was huge and quite comfortable, and there were two single beds in the family room that could be put together. The bathroom was spacious and the shower had very good water pressure and never ran out of hot water. Ted had made it a point to emphasize that they had replaced the water system to filter using UV so the tap water could be drank. This was nice as we just bottled our own water from the tap the whole week. The condo was decorated in your standard beachy style, yet there was something very cozy about it. The books and movies on the shelves, coupled with the décor almost made it feel more like your home as opposed to a generic beach rental. So far I was very impressed. We wandered outside to take a look around. The pool was straight off of a travel poster. It literally looked like it was planted in the middle of a jungle and the view looked straight down on the water. This was going to be a very exciting vacation. There are only a handful of condos as part of this complex and we ran into people maybe twice over our entire trip so it is definitely the place to go to feel like you are getting away. Another thing of note was that there was a ton of parking available which was really nice as parking is a commodity in St. John. After we unpacked, Ted drove us to the grocery store which was right down the street and then brought us back up as we wouldn’t have access to our rental car till the following day. Ted was extremely helpful all week. Any time we had questions or wanted advice he was the man to go to as he had lived on the island forever. We were also able to check in and print out our boarding passes for the trip home from his office. When we were in his office, he shared with us the story of the maturation of the condo complex and how all the owners have been rigorously spending money and upgrading the units making it by the far the hottest upcoming vacation rental in St. John. This was evident by the fact that all available units were rented when we were there. We spent the entire week getting quite cozy in the Serendip Condo making it that much harder to leave when the time came. I can only hope that I have another opportunity in my life to make it back to St. John Maybe one day I can share what St. John has to offer with my kids. Luckily for us we have the perfect place to stay already picked out.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank psupogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.3 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
473 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
461 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.7 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
845 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coconut Coast Villas
Coconut Coast Villas
#1 of 17 in Cruz Bay
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendip Vacation Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendip Vacation Condos

Property: Serendip Vacation Condos
Address: 9-7 Serendip Rd | PO Box 273, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within a lush, tropical setting on two acres with ocean views to Cruz Bay, our one-bedroom and studio condos at Serendip Vacation Condos are being continually upgraded inside and out. We are an intimate complex of only 10 units in a quiet residential area of St. John. Each of the 8 one-bedroom and 2 studio condos have a fully-equipped kitchen, AC, cable, and large covered veranda with ocean views. The studio units have an maximum occupancy of 2 guests. Our one-bedroom units have a maximum occupancy of 4 guests, with NO additional 'per person' fees! The guest laundry facilities are a great added value for small families or the budget friendly traveler, and we also have beach towels, beach chairs & even a cooler for your memorable days on our beautiful USVI National Park beaches. One of our favorite features is the large covered veranda that extends the length of the entire condo and is a wonderful place for dining, reading a book or watching the sunset. The condo complex also has a lovely pool with a seating area, chaise lounges, and BBQ grill. Review our photos and let us know which unit you are interested in reserving when you submit an inquiry. This will allow us to provide an accurate rate and more details about the specific unit. Serendip is one of the best St John vacation values on the island. We look forward to having you as our guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Serendip Vacation Condos Hotel Cruz Bay
Serendip Vacation Condos St. John/Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing