We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Flygirl trip with Sail Safaris” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sail Safaris

Sail Safaris
Ranked #13 of 39 Tours in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sail from the beach in Cruz Bay, St John to wild islands, snorkel the fringing coral reef and have lunch on an uninhabited cay in the Virgin Islands National Park.We specialize in small groups of 2 to 8 people, to make your day both memorable and personal. Sail Safaris is a Spirit Airlines top pick for the Caribbean and recommended by Fodor's travel guides, Conde Nast Traveller and of course TripAdvisor.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Cruz Bay, St. John
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Flygirl trip with Sail Safaris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Last week I went on a full day sail with captain Justin & firstmate Trey. They took us to some amazing snorkeling spots that are not easily accessible by land. Justin is very knowledgeable about St John and the VI, and was able to provide us with lots of interesting information as we were sailing. The crew was very personable and provided excellent customer service. It was very laid back and relaxing and the weather was perfect. Definitely book a trip with Sail Safaris!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    8
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Laid Back Good Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Three of us went on a full day sail on Fly Girl (the catamaran) with Justin and Lauren and loved every minute of it. Highly recommended. We felt very well taken care of and we enjoyed the local knowledge each crew member brought. We will definitely book again next time we're in Cruz Bay.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TileHack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fly Girl -- It doesn't get any better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

My wife and I took a daytrip on Sail Safaris' Fly Girl last week, sailing out of Cruz Bay on St. John. This was our second experience on Fly Girl (we did it two years ago), and I really didn't think it could get any better, but due to a cancellation, we had the boat to ourselves. Our captain (Jeff) and mate (Ellie) pampered us and catered to us all through a perfect day of sailing and snorkeling.

We snorkeled off Little St. James, in Christmas Cove, and off Lovango Cay. Since we were snorkeling in offshore locations, we encountered only a couple of other snorkelers. Each spot was beautiful in its own way, but I would have to say that the coral off Lovango Cay was unique.

In between snorkels, we relaxed with Ellie's Painkillers and enjoyed sailing in a picture-perfect place on a warm and sunny day. My wife is not usually comfortable on a small boat in the ocean, but Jeff's and Ellie's competence put her completely at ease. And in case you were wondering, neither my wife nor I are expert snorkelers. The locations are carefully chosen to suit all levels of experience, and the Sail Safaris people accompany you and watch over you without being intrusive.

We've gone on other party boats out of Cruz Bay, but in my opinion, Fly Girl is an absolutely superior experience and a much better value for the money. What more could you possibly want?

Thanks, Jeff and Ellie. We'll be back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Snorkeling in USVI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had a great day aboard the Fly Girl, captained by Justin and Lauren. One of us didn't have our US passport, so we were a bit concerned that we'd have to stay in the USVI. We had been to the BVI before, and really liked it. However, Justin steered us to a fabulous day while staying in the USVI. We loved the trip and couldn't have wished for a better day!

They took us to several tremendous snorkeling sites, including Little St. James Island, Christmas Cove and Lovango Island. These are sites we couldn't have gotten to any other way, and Justin would tell us exactly which area to go within the coves to explore. We saw coral reefs, abundant, colorful sea life, and enjoyed wonderful company. Justin and Lauren handled the boat deftly; made a great, fresh lunch; and provided drinks, sodas, Dominican beer, painkillers and other drinks. On top of all that, Justin and Lauren are great people -- we really enjoyed getting to know them.

There were four of us on our trip, and we opted for the all-day trip (and are very glad that we did!). We were all pretty comfortable snorkeling; but Lauren and Justin were very attentive, making sure that we had everything we needed, our goggles were defogged, etc. I highly recommend this trip. It will be the highlight of your visit to St. John.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 625Joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Day sail to Jost VanDyke BVI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Awesome adventure with Ike and Lauren on board the Dell Rose. The full day sail, including one snorkel stop, was absolutely perfect. Lauren kept the drinks coming as Ike sailed and shared his personal adventures around the world. And then we followed Ike as a professional musician by night, watching him at the Beach Bar and The Landing. Very talented guy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank johne41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail Safaris also viewed

 

Been to Sail Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing