We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Snorkeling in USVI” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sail Safaris

Sail Safaris
Ranked #13 of 39 Tours in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sail from the beach in Cruz Bay, St John to wild islands, snorkel the fringing coral reef and have lunch on an uninhabited cay in the Virgin Islands National Park.We specialize in small groups of 2 to 8 people, to make your day both memorable and personal. Sail Safaris is a Spirit Airlines top pick for the Caribbean and recommended by Fodor's travel guides, Conde Nast Traveller and of course TripAdvisor.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Snorkeling in USVI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had a great day aboard the Fly Girl, captained by Justin and Lauren. One of us didn't have our US passport, so we were a bit concerned that we'd have to stay in the USVI. We had been to the BVI before, and really liked it. However, Justin steered us to a fabulous day while staying in the USVI. We loved the trip and couldn't have wished for a better day!

They took us to several tremendous snorkeling sites, including Little St. James Island, Christmas Cove and Lovango Island. These are sites we couldn't have gotten to any other way, and Justin would tell us exactly which area to go within the coves to explore. We saw coral reefs, abundant, colorful sea life, and enjoyed wonderful company. Justin and Lauren handled the boat deftly; made a great, fresh lunch; and provided drinks, sodas, Dominican beer, painkillers and other drinks. On top of all that, Justin and Lauren are great people -- we really enjoyed getting to know them.

There were four of us on our trip, and we opted for the all-day trip (and are very glad that we did!). We were all pretty comfortable snorkeling; but Lauren and Justin were very attentive, making sure that we had everything we needed, our goggles were defogged, etc. I highly recommend this trip. It will be the highlight of your visit to St. John.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 625Joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    8
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Day sail to Jost VanDyke BVI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Awesome adventure with Ike and Lauren on board the Dell Rose. The full day sail, including one snorkel stop, was absolutely perfect. Lauren kept the drinks coming as Ike sailed and shared his personal adventures around the world. And then we followed Ike as a professional musician by night, watching him at the Beach Bar and The Landing. Very talented guy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank johne41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
2 reviews
“Wonderful, relaxing time on Fly Girl”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

My husband and I were the only two guest on Fly Girl and Justin and Trey were so much fun to sail with. We spent the whole day going to a few different spots so my husband could snorkel. It was so relaxing for me to just sit and enjoy the views, warm air and company! Thanks for the most enjoyable day of my vacation. Can't wait to visit St. Johns and sail on Fly Girl again!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosper, Texas
1 review
“Sail Safari is TERRIFIC !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

3 couples - wonderful trip on their sailboat. So wonderful we immediately re-booked for another cruise! Also wonderful. Great people - great service. definitely will use them again next time down there. Family run - family fun - great folks - AND great, unlimited rum drinks and beer.....What a great couple of trips!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 8181948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Sail and Snorkel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

My son (22) and his friend and I had the wonderful opportunity to sail on the Dell Rose on Thursday, Jan. 23rd for a full day sail and snorkel. The boys didn't have passports so we stayed in the USVI. My son has only sailed on catamarans and my son's friend had never sailed. Our crew was Capt. Mike and first mate Lauren. They gave us an excellent day and made us feel very welcome! We went to 3 snorkel sites that were all really good. Lunch was great and hit the spot - we were hungry!!! Experiencing sailing on a mono hull versus a catamaran is lots of fun and you really get the feel of the wind and the water. I can't say enough about this sailing company. Owners, Kellie and Eric and their family (Trey and Amanda) are always friendly and excited to offer us some of the best sailing experiences I've had on St. John. If you're looking for a knowledgeable crew, outstanding hospitality and lots of fun stories about the islands, book with this company. Both the Dell Rose and Fly Girl are fun boats. They only take out 6 guests at a time so you get to know your shipmates and the crew!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail Safaris also viewed

 

Been to Sail Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing