We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sail Safaris does it right”
Review of Sail Safaris

Sail Safaris
Ranked #14 of 40 Tours in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sail from the beach in Cruz Bay, St John to wild islands, snorkel the fringing coral reef and have lunch on an uninhabited cay in the Virgin Islands National Park.We specialize in small groups of 2 to 8 people, to make your day both memorable and personal. Sail Safaris is a Spirit Airlines top pick for the Caribbean and recommended by Fodor's travel guides, Conde Nast Traveller and of course TripAdvisor.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Indianola, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sail Safaris does it right”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We have been coming to St John for nearly 20 years and gone on many day sails but this year's trip with Sail Safaris really stood out. We had some places we were hoping to go to and Eric and his staff were prepared to make the day special for us. They were attentive but never overbearing, excellent sailors, and great hosts. The boat Del Rose was clean, modern and spacious, the perfect vehicle for our day. We are planning another trip to St John in a couple of months and will definitely plan to sail with them again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gijoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    8
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Granby, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best day of our vacation!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

On January 7, 2014 we had a blast on the Fly Girl with Justin and Liz! I'm so glad we took the full day snorkel and wouldn't miss doing this again on every trip to St. John. Three great snorkel spots, lunch and drinks, absolutely a great day! See you again for sure!
Thank you Sail Safaris,
Chris, Wade, Hailey, Kait, Amber and Tim.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisdubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful experience on Sail Safaris!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had a wonderful experience with Mike & Lauren on Sail Safaris from St. John to Jost Van Dyke! They are extremely professional, knowledgeable and took great care of us (even in the storm we hit on the way back)! Great sailboat and great crew!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Molly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
“Superb Sailing Experience”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I cannot speak more highly of Kellie, Mike and Lauren at Sail Safaris. Everything about our experience was exemplary. Kellie was was extremely professional in her flexibility during the planning our two excursions. Mike was the ideal captain to lead us through the islands over our trips through the islands and snorkel locations. Lauren's ability to connect with our children (12,10 and 8) was greatly appreciated by my wife and myself.
We will be using them for many years to come.

Mark Murphy, M.D.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Went out for a full day on the hobie cat with a very hospitable and knowledgeable guide. Beautiful and peaceful to sail around the islands on a small catamaran. Snorkeled at three different places that were all full of life and otherwise inaccessible. Enjoyed a very decent picnic lunch on an tiny island off the coast of St. John. Would definitely recommend the full day package versus half day - takes some time to get around on the hobie cat, and you'll just be getting started when you come back. And it's a great value!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kittens N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail Safaris also viewed

 

Been to Sail Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing