We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Voted the "best day of our vacation" by my kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sail Safaris

Sail Safaris
Ranked #14 of 39 Tours in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sail from the beach in Cruz Bay, St John to wild islands, snorkel the fringing coral reef and have lunch on an uninhabited cay in the Virgin Islands National Park.We specialize in small groups of 2 to 8 people, to make your day both memorable and personal. Sail Safaris is a Spirit Airlines top pick for the Caribbean and recommended by Fodor's travel guides, Conde Nast Traveller and of course TripAdvisor.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage
Oreland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Voted the "best day of our vacation" by my kids”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our family of 5 (kids ages 17,14 and 11) booked a six-hour catamaran snorkeling trip on June 27, 2013 with Sails Safaris and we all enjoyed every minute of the trip.

Justin, our captain, was friendly, informative about the St. John and surrounding islands, laid back and very open to our having our family five under his command for the day. We felt very much at home in his company. Our first mate, Brandon, was friendly, very informative about the many different fish to look for at each of our three snorkeling spots.

"Fly Girl", the catamaran, was roomy enough for all of us and to stretch out and the kids absolutely loved sitting up front and getting wet during the sail to and from our destinations. We all saw many beautiful fish and coral. There is a seating area that is also undercover if the sun gets to be too much for you.

Justin had a display card that we used to identify the fish that we saw. It was a great way to explore the many areas of St. John that you cannot get to by car. I would highly recommend Sail Safaris to a family or group of friends who enjoy sailing and want to spend a relaxing day of fun and snorkeling.

The trip included lunch and beverages - cold cuts, soda, beer, juices and snacks were waiting for us after our second snorkeling destination. None of us wanted to leave when Fly Girl finally returned back to Cruz Bay.

Just a heads up for families with kids...there is no bathroom on board. Moms might want to know that ahead of time. My daughter tends to get car sick but she had no problems on Fly Girl.

Thanks again to Justin and Brandon for a great day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    8
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We took the Sunset Sail and it was awesome! The crew are attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. Drinks, snacks and beautiful scenery. It is a must do!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Longtalltexasgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new braunfels
1 review
“Fly girl adventure”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Did a day trip to the BVI on the Fly Girl. Justin and 1st mate Trey were wonderful. Justin made a mean rum runner and Trey lead a very informative snorkel trip. Met up with Foxy, had fish and chips at the Soggy Dollar, (couple of painkillers of course). Had Bushwackers at One Love, (Seddy's shack). Then smooth sailing home. We highly recommend sail safaris, fly girl and Justin and Trey. Love St John.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank perden6600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wet, Wild, Fun”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We took a full day trip with a captain on one of Sail Safari's Hobie Cats. There were three of us; my wife, myself, and our 17 year old niece who had just graduated high school. Our captain was Ike, who told us, "I guarantee you will get wet." He wasn't kidding. We were thoroughly soaked by the end of the day. This trip was the absolute highlight of our trip to St. John. We had an absolute blast sailing the Caribbean and snorkeling. The lunch was outstanding, Ike's love of life was contagious, and this sailing adventure ranks as, not just our best day on St. John, but one of our top ten life experiences. We sailed all over the place admiring islands, birds, fish, geology, etc. We snorkeled a couple of places (Ike would have been happy to do more snorkeling, but we encouraged the sailing because we were enjoying it so much), and we shared quality time and much laughter. I would recommend this experience to anyone with an adventurous spirit and a desire to enjoy the Virgin Islands to their fullest. Getting out on the water in this very small sailing vessel will put you in the position of being a part of nature. It is truly invigorating and sensational. You won't regret it - and Sail Safaris is the best outfit to go with. Thanks Sail Safaris for the time of our life.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MyneBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clio, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Best Crew”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Had a perfect day sailing on the Del Rose with Troy and Lauren. They took us to a beautiful snorkling place and Lauren was our guide in the water. Then off to Jost Van Dyke for lunch. We have sailed with other charters in St John and St Thomas and what makes this one so special is you are only sailing with one or two other couples so that leaves more Painkillers for everyone. This is one sail anyone visiting St John should take.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail Safaris also viewed

 

Been to Sail Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing