We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fly girl adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sail Safaris

Sail Safaris
Ranked #14 of 39 Tours in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sail from the beach in Cruz Bay, St John to wild islands, snorkel the fringing coral reef and have lunch on an uninhabited cay in the Virgin Islands National Park.We specialize in small groups of 2 to 8 people, to make your day both memorable and personal. Sail Safaris is a Spirit Airlines top pick for the Caribbean and recommended by Fodor's travel guides, Conde Nast Traveller and of course TripAdvisor.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
new braunfels
1 review
“Fly girl adventure”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Did a day trip to the BVI on the Fly Girl. Justin and 1st mate Trey were wonderful. Justin made a mean rum runner and Trey lead a very informative snorkel trip. Met up with Foxy, had fish and chips at the Soggy Dollar, (couple of painkillers of course). Had Bushwackers at One Love, (Seddy's shack). Then smooth sailing home. We highly recommend sail safaris, fly girl and Justin and Trey. Love St John.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank perden6600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    8
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wet, Wild, Fun”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We took a full day trip with a captain on one of Sail Safari's Hobie Cats. There were three of us; my wife, myself, and our 17 year old niece who had just graduated high school. Our captain was Ike, who told us, "I guarantee you will get wet." He wasn't kidding. We were thoroughly soaked by the end of the day. This trip was the absolute highlight of our trip to St. John. We had an absolute blast sailing the Caribbean and snorkeling. The lunch was outstanding, Ike's love of life was contagious, and this sailing adventure ranks as, not just our best day on St. John, but one of our top ten life experiences. We sailed all over the place admiring islands, birds, fish, geology, etc. We snorkeled a couple of places (Ike would have been happy to do more snorkeling, but we encouraged the sailing because we were enjoying it so much), and we shared quality time and much laughter. I would recommend this experience to anyone with an adventurous spirit and a desire to enjoy the Virgin Islands to their fullest. Getting out on the water in this very small sailing vessel will put you in the position of being a part of nature. It is truly invigorating and sensational. You won't regret it - and Sail Safaris is the best outfit to go with. Thanks Sail Safaris for the time of our life.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MyneBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clio, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Best Crew”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Had a perfect day sailing on the Del Rose with Troy and Lauren. They took us to a beautiful snorkling place and Lauren was our guide in the water. Then off to Jost Van Dyke for lunch. We have sailed with other charters in St John and St Thomas and what makes this one so special is you are only sailing with one or two other couples so that leaves more Painkillers for everyone. This is one sail anyone visiting St John should take.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
“Wonderful day on Fly Girl!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a lovely time on Fly Girl with Justin and Brandon! We did the St. John full day sail and it was amazing! Not only was sailing around on the catamaran delightful (we had a gorgeous day!), but we got to snorkel in places we never would have had the chance to see on our own! They picked some great spots to snorkel! Justin was filled with great stories about the island, and after a week of snorkeling on our own it was great to finally have a guide like Brandon in the water to tell us the names of everything! He also helped us see all the creatures we normally would never have noticed on our own! You could tell both men loved being out and around the water and it showed in the excellent trip they provided us! We will definitely be back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SweetandSauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awesome! Will do again and again.”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have been to St. Thomas/St. John 8 times and just now experienced Sail Safari. It is by far the best boat/snorkel trip we have ever experienced. Loved it. First we went out on Del Rose over to Jost Van Dyke. Han and Lauren were our captain and first mate. It was myself, husband, and one other couple. It was perfect. Lauren made better painkillers than Soggy Dollar Bottom Bar. No kidding! They also recommended places for us to eat and beaches to visit on the island. The next day we went out on a beach catamaran with Ike from Sail Safari. It was awesome too. You are right on the water and loving all the splashes. Paradise. We plan to return in November and do Fly Girl. Thanks for some great memories. We will see you in November. Paul and Mary

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank marymissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail Safaris also viewed

 

Been to Sail Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing