We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a solid choice to dine at while on St. John”
Review of La Tapa

La Tapa
Ranked #11 of 62 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed November 5, 2018

When we come to St. John we always make sure we have at least one dinner out at La Tapa. This time we decided to make reservations at the bar. It is small inside but very charming. The bartender was friendly and brought out a bottle of red wine that I selected from their wine list that has a nice range depending what your preference is.

We ordered the steamed PEI mussels served in a light cream and white wine sauce. They came out nice and hot - they were tasty. I had the seared local yellowfin tuna that was served with polenta. The combination worked brilliantly. My husband had the squid ink pappardelle that came with shrimp and callamari. We both thoroughly enjoyed our meals. I would recommend to reserve a spot at the bar if you can. We did notice the place tends to fill up especially if it is one of their jazz nights.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NJSusan-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 724 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2018

This entree was literally one of the best dishes I have ever eaten!! So incredibly good! The service was inexplicably slow which was annoying, but the food was absolutely fantastic!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2018

Visited October 12-16 and really looking forward to La Tapa. Unfortunately they were on vacation and not open. Hoping to catch them next time. They have great food and nice wine selection. Love the street side location.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank sharonearly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Chef/Owner Alex has repeatedly shown her craft in this wonderful restaurant. She uses locally sourced ingredients, including at times lobsters she has caught herself. Always a nice crowd, especially on nights when live music, yet subtle music is offered. A delightful spot with amazing food.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank islandgal922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018

Located at probably the busiest part of Cruz Bay and a very lively spot at night which makes the ambiance a really great island experience. Coupled with the very good food and friendly excellent service, it is highly recommended.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank James C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tapa also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to La Tapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing