We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tapas at Tapa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of LaTapa

LaTapa
Ranked #5 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
176 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Tapas at Tapa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We ate off the tapas part of the menu. I had an escargot dish with pasta which was unusual and fabulous. Wife had a great salad. Service was excellent.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dogchow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    124
    44
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food- annoying soundtrack”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

It's too bad that the playlist was so annoying. The food was top notch and the service was great. But our waitress confessed that the playlist was set and agreed that the music (which sounded more like middle eastern chanting) was a frequent complaint.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Really great meal - and kid-friendly to boot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We enjoyed the last meal of our family vacation at La Tapa and were not disappointed, nor were the kids. La Tapa is casual in appearance and vibe, though the service seems to bring it to a higher level than a casual dining restaurant. This is clearly a popular dining option and every seat in the restaurant filled quickly after the opening of the doors - that said, there was no lull in service and the staff is clearly accustomed to the pace, which is not often the case. Our waitress was extremely knowledgeable, attentive and efficient without being overbearing - always appreciated.

We ordered a few tapas to start, including a delicious caesar salad and a fresh mozarella presentation that exceeded our expectations. Our kids pasta dishes were served simultaneously with our appetizers, which was helpful and enjoyed by all. The main courses were the star attraction here and the freshness of the mahi exceeded our expectations. Two adults in our party shared the traditional paella and just loved it...we all cleaned our plates and felt very satisfied. The kids had their dessert while we finished our main courses..chocolate cake and ice cream!

Great experience here - would definitely go back on a return trip!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WalkerWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
157 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal at La Tapa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had so may interesting fresh seafood specialties!
Fab desserts too!
Great island atmosphere on main street in St. John!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spencernewsock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Best fish we've ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

La Tapa was our absolute favorite dinner in St. John, and we ate at many places. Let me start off by saying how comfortable they made me feel with my nut allergies. Since it was packed when we went and they had no more seating available, we ate at the bar. The bartender assured me the kitchen would keep everything on my plate separate from all the dishes containing nuts. I had the yellowfin tuna and my bf had the yellowtail snapper. Both were unreal. The fish was so fresh (caught that day) that it was literally the best we've had. I highly suggest this place. What a pleasant experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kateeeeeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LaTapa also viewed

 

Been to LaTapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing