We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paella was excellent!”
Review of LaTapa

LaTapa
Ranked #8 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Paella was excellent!”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is one of the best restaurants on St John. We were a group of 8, 4 adults and 4 teens. The wine list was excellent. The paella was too much for two of us to finish. Saffron rice gave it a extra level of flavor. This is a small restaurant, so seating is limited so make a reservation to make sure you get a table. We will definitely make this a repeat for dinners in future trips to St John.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lifesabeach368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    127
    45
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mission, B.C.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

My husband and I headed to La Tapa after reading the rave reviews on trip advisor. While overall we didn't have a bad experience, it wasn't as fabulous as billed. We shared the diver scallops, which were fabulous and flavourful to start, but while my husband loved his Tuna entree, my seafood pasta entree was quite tasteless and just "okay". The atmosphere was great and service wonderful, but when you're paying those prices you expect to be wowed somewhat!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cath001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had been looking for fresh, delicious, and creative food on the island, and we found finally found it in La Tapa. We ordered bread with 3 dipping sauces, langostinos, and the tuna entree. Everything tasted amazing and it was plenty of food for two people. We also got a carafe of sangria that was spiced with cinnamon and banana bread pudding for dessert. The ambiance was really nice, very romantic, and the service was impeccable. The menu pricing is on par with the rest of the island, and we finally felt like we got the meal we were paying for in this place. We will be coming back on every visit!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, New York, Usa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“refined but relaxed”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The best on island! St. John is characterised with a combination of best beach and worst meal. This restaurant is a game changer! In the past, I usually ended up at so-so but expensive meal at Caneel. This restaurant improved the quality of life who prefer staying villa/condo.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank okiyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Where everybody MUST go to eat onSt. John, USVI”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

La Tapa is THE place to eat every night you are staying on St. John. The menu is always changing and what is really good-like their infamous #paella seems to stay. An excellent #wine list and #desserts that make your mouth water just from reading the description on their menu. I really like the bar-Sarah was one of the best bartenders on the Island!!! I definitely recommend this restaurant for ALL who visit St. John. Make sure to make a reservation-it popular & right in the middle of Cruz Bay so it gets crowded.

Helpful?
Thank JBrock29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LaTapa also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to LaTapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing