We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable evening!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Terrace Restaurant

The Terrace Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: French, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: French inspired fine dining and fine wines. Located on the waterfront in Cruz Bay, between Grande Bay Resort and Wharfside Village. Bar opens nightly at 4:30 for our fresh oyster happy hour, restaurant opens at 5:30. Open 7 days. Reservations recommended
North East, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

It began with a warm greeting as our family of 5 arrived for dinner. Our experience only got better. We had a wonderful view of St Thomas. The waitress immediately gave us the feeling that she was going to provide us with an amazing experience and meal. She took the time to connect with our table and understand our intention for the evening. It is an intimate setting so would not recommend going with small boisterous children.
The waitress explained each dish perfectly. Highlights…the duck App was light and tasty portion was a bit small but expected for duck….Tuna tartare was beautifully presented and a generous portion. My Filet Mignon was perfectly cooked and wonderfully tender.
This one of the pricer restaurants on the island but WORTH IT!
It has it all going on view, customer service and flavor!
Thank you!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Walkingonsunshine16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    74
    24
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent (but expensive)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous food and great service. Entrees are delicious and creative, very different from the cookie cutter approach to food in most other places on the island.. More on the expensive side even for St John but totally worth every cent!

Helpful?
1 Thank AennKaezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We first visited The Terrace when it opened in 2012 and have since returned numerous times. Erica is a fantastic chef and her husband Robin does a wonderful job as host. The staff is fantastic, especially Holly and Jody, who both came from the same high-end restaurant across town. The menu keeps getting better and the location is beautiful. Also if you like martinis, try the "beantini." Some critics say the restaurant is expensive, but it is no more so than the other top restaurants on the island. Overall, we feel The Terrace offers one of the best dining experiences on St. John.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler195_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, Washington
Level Contributor
270 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Succulent, great daily entrees”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Another great meal here. We looked forward to eating again at this restaurant ever since we made our flight reservations last April. Just as good as last year. Our server, Holly, was just as nice and attentive as last year. Even with the few tables occupied, she gave us plenty of space and didn't hover. The lamb was succulent, the Caribbean lobster tail was a surprise offering for this evening, and I just wish I'd had room for dessert. I'll be saving room for our next meal next week. They're closed Sundays, so plan your vacation carefully. Please note that Trip Advisor lists two restaurants: The Terrace and The Terrace Restaurant. Both places are the same. I can't find on Trip Advisor where to get this corrected.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Loved This Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The food, the service, the view...all were the perfect setting for our last evening in Paradise. We loved our entree selections and found them created and sized just right. We arrived without reservations but were accommodated with no wait. Would suggest that reservations be made during busier seasons.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SZQ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Terrace Restaurant also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to The Terrace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing