We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“2nd Favorite Day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maho Beach

Maho Beach
Book In Advance
$224.99*
and up
St John Snorkeling Cruise to Cruz Bay from St Thomas
Ranked #2 of 33 things to do in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“2nd Favorite Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Loved this beach. We were able to park right off the road and sit on beach close to car. Made transporting stuff easy. The beach is narrow, and has about 2 feet of rocks before you get to sandy bottom, but they are all rounded, so not a hardship. Along the eastern edge, there is fabulous snorkeling, and in the middle we saw several very large sea turtles feeding on the bottom grass. Awesome site those! Water is very calm, with little to no current. Some shade(a small amount) is available with overhanging trees.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,021
    195
    37
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“SEA TURTLES!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

If you want to swim with Sea Turtles, this is your spot!! My husabnd and I visited SEVERAL different beaches during our 1 week stay in St John and this was the best spot for Sea Turtles. There is sea grass our from the beach a bit and the sea turtles come to visit. We were there most of the day and there were never more than 4 couples/families there at any given time. GORGEOUS beach and would highly recommend! There are plently of places for shade if you prefer to sit under a tree! Would visit again for sure! Also, its right next to Trunk Bay, so if you want the view without the crowd and fee, this is your spot. Would go here over Trunk ANY day.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank SaraMichelle403045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schererville, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great family beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Great snorkeling. Lots of stingrays, giant tarpon, barracudas. Low key, quite beach. Shallow beach, nice soft sand. Our favorite beach.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank azmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach for snorkeling!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Loved Maho Beach; went snorkeling and saw 4 sting rays playing amongst each other, several large cobia and a couple of small sharks. Beautiful beach....only drawback was finding a place to park!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank KristaB813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“favorite beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We were in St. John for 10 days and tried many beaches and this was my favorite. I saw turtles and many rays. The sheer number of fish here is astounding. There are thousands and thousands of bait fish all around. It is fascinating to swim through them. I have snorkeled many places and have never experiences the amount of fish that are at Maho. The colors of the water and the white sand are glorious. Every time we drove by Maho to go to other beaches the water there was perfectly still, even when the water at other locations was rougher. One could spend the entire day here. Perfect!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank saltroutdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maho Beach also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Caneel Bay, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Maho Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing