We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unbeatable location and views!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View From Your Living Room at Captain's View Southerly View of Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
View From Your Living Room at Captain's View
Southerly View of Living Room
Living Room Facing North at Captains View
Aerial view of the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cruz Bay, St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kanuk13
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location and views!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We have visited St. John a few times before and this time we wanted to be located within walking distance to Cruz Bay for the restaurants and bars. Captain's View offered the perfect location, a bit of a hike uphill, but not bad if you are in reasonable shape. The views were terrific and allowed us to enjoy watching the town wake up in the morning while enjoying our morning coffee on the balcony. The evening sunsets were great. Captains View is a great value with fairly basic accommodation, not luxury, but very adequate. We had a great week and did not have to worry about a car rental as we utilized the local taxis and Vitran bus when going over to Coral Bay or Salt Pond.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonjelly
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great stay in town”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We loved this property for it's great location and the views. It is located close to everything in town, though you have to walk up a couple steep hills to get to it. The condo has all the amenities you need except some of the appliances are very dated and the bed pillows were horrible. It was nice to be able to cook our own meals and the grill was nice. We spent most of our time on the deck staring at the amazing view. No one checked on us while we were there and it would have been nice for someone to check in and see how we were doing. The welcome amenities in the fridge were a nice touch and overall I would definitely recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and location were great.
Liked least: Some of the appliances were very old, the pillows were horrible and no one check on us while we were there.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debkay27
New Paris, IN
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great View from Deck”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Four of us stayed here for 6 nights. The view from the wrap around deck of the boat harbor was something I never got tired of. The two bedrooms were very nice one was off the kitchen which could be a bit noisy if anyone is an early riser and wants to make coffee Some of the appliances are a bit dated (i.e. washer and dryer). The only real complaint was we were suppose to get maid service mid-way through our visit but it did not happen. Beware it is at the top of a rather steep hill and is a bit of a climb. We would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from th deck
Liked least: Climb up the hill
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2013
We are grateful for all our new and repeat guests at Captain’s View. It truly is a magical place! I’m sorry to hear the mid-week cleaning was missed, but assure all our guests that St. John Properties will take care of any cleaning or maintenance glitches ASAP, as they are only five minutes away in Cruz Bay!

BJ Harris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carribean...
Gasport, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place has it all!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were blown away with the Captain's View! The first thing that captivated us was the incredible view of Cruz Bay. It was very hard to leave the villa for the day and go exploring. Location is within walking distance to restaurants, bars, shopping, grocery store, and ferry docks. Villa was very clean, and ready when we arrived. Beautiful bougainvillea arrangements adorned the villa. The "welcome delights" in the refrigerator, added a special touch. It truly was "home" away from home. Looking forward to many more return trips.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Virginia
Reviewed July 20, 2012 for a stay in June 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Canada
Reviewed July 15, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Spartanburg SC
Reviewed June 30, 2012 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing