We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Third stay and still loved it.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Cruz Bay, St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen C
Saint Cloud
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pre hurricane rates post hurricane conditions”
Reviewed April 18, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
5
people found this review helpful

We have been renting villas all over the Caribbean and this was without a doubt one of the prettiest views we’ve ever had. We reserved this villa back in May 2017 pre hurricane as it had easy access to the beach at Chocolate Hole Bay and we paid and reserved with the Westin supposedly for our use, the restaurants, bars and gym. We arrived 6 months post hurricane the last week in March 2018 through the first week in April 2018. We could have cancelled but with the management companies email assurance that it would be ready for us we went to support the islands businesses and people. What a nightmare. We could not use the bay as we were told it was full of bacteria from the debris piled up on top the hill and the rain washing that bacteria into the bay. The Westin was closed and we were told by the workers it’d be at the very least another 6 months. The hot tub only ran from 5pm-10pm and we could not turn it on any other morning afternoon or evening. They finally put a new switch on the second week,that was in the closet the whole time, why wasn’t it replaced before our arrival? The ice machine was broke when we got there, it was replaced half way through our stay. Again why not before our arrival? The internet/WiFi was not working but sporadically until the day before we left when the man came to fix it. We didn’t call but obviously they knew about because when I asked why it was being fixed now I was told the owners are coming tomorrow. The TVs did not work and the upstairs outlets in front bedrooms didn’t work. A breaker my son finally found. The 5th smaller back bedroom, the a/c didn’t work and towards the end of the second week someone came out. It worked one night and he came back the next day it never worked again while we were there. So the whole time but that one night the two younger boys slept on the couch in living room and only used the bathroom for showers etc. The sinks in downstairs bedrooms would fill up while brushing your teeth, disgusting! We noticed the refrigerator was warmer then normal but still at a safe temp. Half way through our stay the refrigerator quit working they sent someone out 3-4 different times but by then we had lost all the perishables that we had bought for 9 of us. Over $600. It was broke 3 days. We used the beverage cooler for a few things but obviously it wasn’t big enough to accommodate food for 9 and eventually 7 of us. I sent numerous emails to the management company complaining practically begging, pleading and it was like they didn’t care. We paid close to $30,000 For this beautiful villa and our vacation was spent most days and evenings away from it. Not by choice. One day after asking for things to be repaired and complaining that we should be given a refund one of the responses was well take some chairs and at least sit on the beach!!! Really so hot and couldn’t get in water I’m quite sure she wouldn’t have done it w her kids. At the very end the management company said I’d receive a $1000 check upon my return home. $600 for the lost food which I greatly appreciate and $400 off the villa which I find insulting and disgusting. Well it’s over a week now and you guessed it I’ve received nothing. What’s so very unfortunate is that there is no way to contact the owner and tell them. We decided as a family that had this place been ours and we had guests no matter what they paid if they were treated like this we would want to know. We did have a great Chef and the company is St. John Catering, Mat is the owner and cooked for us and Jordan cooked a meal for us but our regular chef was Shelly. They were all fantastic and lamented w us over our unfair treatment. The cleaning ladies were awesome and when I texted her and asked if we left it suitable (after her leaving a note the first Sat saying how they appreciated how clean we left it for them) she said “you get guest of the year award” you left it in fantastic shape. We always take care of anyplace we rent as well if not better then our own. I’m very disappointed w this management company and when we purchase there we will never use them!! I’m still waiting on my refund!!!! Just checked today’s mail!!!! The villa is beautiful I’m sure the owner/owners are as well but the management company not so much. I feel they collect the big fees have numerous places they collect on and they get complacent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2018
Thank you for your review.

Catered To Vacation Homes has been operating on St. John for more than 25 years and takes every care to ensure that guests are as comfortable as possible, and we are sorry that you ever had any difficulty during your stay. While the details of your experience in this review do not fully correspond with the service calls and maintenance notes that we have on file, we can certainly understand your frustration that there were any challenges at all. For that we are very sorry.

Please note that the management company operates under a contract with the owner and is subject to the terms of that agreement. As such, the amount of the refund was determined by the owner of the home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickm7772...
St. Augustine, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place, BUT”
Reviewed August 3, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Wonderful location and equipped for a large family vacation. But, at six o'clock on a Friday evening, the management company thought it was a good time to have the septic tank pumped. We, as renters, didn't think it was a good time. You wouldn't either.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbasD
Boynton Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Third stay and still loved it.”
Reviewed August 2, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have been renting a couple times a year in St John for the past 20 years. We RARELY take the same house twice but this is the 3rd time we have stayed here and we took it for two weeks this time which made it even better. The proximity to the Western, your virtually private beach, awesome layout and convenience to town simply can't be beat.

The fact that 4 of the 5 bedrooms are EXACTLY alike makes it easy for everyone to feel like they are treated equally. If there are any negatives they are minor. For example, not having a bathtub to bath small children. We LOVED the layout as it is basically one big open space with 5 bedrooms surrounding the open center. For couples needing a lot of privacy that may be somewhat off putting but for families and close friends it can't be beat.

The Kitchen has everything you could possibly want and in general this is a fantastic place to rent.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V5640THci...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Spring Break”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

3 families, 11 people total, rented Casa Coram for our spring break in March. It was perfect! The home is beautiful. We never felt crowded. The pool was fabulous, the views amazing, the kitchen was very big and very well stocked with everything you need to cook with. The drive way fit our 3 jeeps no problem. The location was perfect! Easy to get to town. A grocery store across the street, and right next to the Westin. We could walk right over there. We would definitely rent this home again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great house for our family of 12”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The house was perfect with 5 bedrooms all with interior access, heated pool and hot tub, outdoor barbecue, quite close to Cruz Bay with all its bars and restaurants. Of course the North Shore beaches are incredibly beautiful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie P
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed December 10, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We have traveled as an extended family for holidays and have always been lucky to choose great houses and this home was EXCEPTIONAL! The location is amazing...the service from Drew and the rental staff was amazing...everything was perfect! We were there for Thanksgiving week 2014 and had an amazing home grilled Thansgiving dinner (steaks, not turkey) which we grilled and enjoyed by the pool...perfect! We loved the direct beach access and the mostly private stretch of beach (just some random Westin guests wandering down our way...but we had access to their stretch of the beach as well). My sister and her husband are big on working out and were able to pay a fee for the week to use the Westin exercise facilities. The house is very near Cruz Bay for dining and activities. We have stayed in other houses other places which had TV and Internet issues but we had no problems here...everything worked perfectly...but beware...in the VIs your cell phone won't work with most US carriers. The only thing this home lacked was a garbage disposal in the kitchen (which may be an island thing?)...if you are not used to this or have not had this it is an adjustment (especially for kids in the group!). Other than that the kitchen is amazing and has pretty much anything and everything any cook could ask for! It was definitely the best appointed kitchen as far as appliances and cookware, etc., that we have seen in our travels. Highly recommend!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Reviewed April 29, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing