We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few options and pushy service”
Review of Cafe Livin - CLOSED

Cafe Livin
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
2,743 reviews
1,087 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,516 helpful votes
“Few options and pushy service”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

It's just ok for breakfast. It has very few options.
I had a bowl of granola with fruits (few blueberries to be more precise), $6. And we also had some eggs with tortilla (migas) that were fine, $9.
Very pushy service and cash only.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    23
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dux
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Christmas STJ”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great breakfast and very pleasant service. Bloody Mary's were fabulous. I usually had the same; eggs over easy with home fries but so yummy. My son loved the croissant egg sandwiches too. People watching very fun too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank spaz1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Bloody Mary”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We enjoyed a nice breakfast here. I had a veggie omlette and my husband had a breakfast sandwich. The omlette wasn't on the menu though they did not hesitate to accomodate the request. The waitress was super sweet.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank STJ_Waterbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Over priced. Low quality”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We ordered two milkshakes for $7 each. They were 8 ounce cups and weren't even filled up all the way, the server was not friendly, and the shake was made out of ice and a milk mix. I see lots of other good reviews, so I would suggest avoiding the iced milkshakes. The location is convenient.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JessMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great spot to grab a bite before taking the ferry back!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stopped here on our way back from St. John after a week in Coral Bay. We had time to kill, it was 10:00 a.m. and no restaurants were open but this one. And we are so glad! The place was hoppin' but the woman who helped us never seemed stressed and was seriouly one of the friendliest people I'd ever seen. My mother-in-law asked a million questions about the menu, and she stayed helpful when many would have melted. She also recommended the breakfast burrito, which was the tastiest thing we had for breakfast on the island -- the grilled veggies inside make it outstanding. The bloody mary's were tasty and frozen drinks just right. My husband wanted a margarita and, though they didn't have all the fixings, they created somethign even better for us -- a skinny margartia they should put on the menu!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank heathery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Livin also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing